PowerBook 100 weird display

Discussion in 'Apple Collectors' started by finkmacunix, Feb 5, 2011.

  1. finkmacunix macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    #1
    Hello macrumors,
    I have this PowerBook 100 that would start up to the Question Mark Disk icon.
    I finally bought a SCSI Terminator and Disk Mode Cable, but when I turn on the PowerBook, I hear the death chime and the screen is obscured… I can see the faint outline of a Sad Mac…
    How can I fix this?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    My guess is that the SCSI terminator and/or the Disk Mode Cable is doing it. The internal hard drive might be dead or not have an OS on it.
     
  3. finkmacunix thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    #3
    I don't have the SCSI cable attached, and the Hard Drive appears to have no Data on it, since It used to display a ? Floppy Disk Icon…
     
  4. wickedking94, Feb 5, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 15, 2011

    wickedking94 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    #4
    Could it just be bad wiring to the display?
    Or a Bad Graphics Chip? (or whatever older computers use for graphics)
     
  5. finkmacunix thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    #5
    Doesen't look like the monitor cable is broken…
    Any suggestions on a better place to ask for help?
     
  6. Meyvn macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    #6
    Don't listen to agentphish; you've come to the right place; this is a huge community. It just may take some time, because most of us have expertise more in the area of newer Macs. You could always try local computer repair shops too; particularly long-standing ones.

    I'm no expert in this area, but I do know if you need parts, Allmac.com is a great resource for older, harder-to-find stuff. And http://www.jagshouse.com/classicrepair.html Has a lot of common troubleshooting techniques.
     
  7. MacTech68 macrumors 68000

    MacTech68

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #7
    Looking closely at the larger image, it looks like the first line is 00000002.

    This should indicate a memory error. If you have additional memory installed, remove it and try again. If the problem goes away, carefully re-fit the module and try again.

    The memory module is at the extreme left of the motherboard. The following page may help:

    http://www.kevinomura.com/powerbooks/powerbook100/

    At the age of this machine, it could be anything causing the memory error. It looks like a bit may be stuck somewhere (hence the odd display).
     
  8. finkmacunix thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
  9. chrismacguy macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #9
    My guess would be either bad logicboard RAM, or a bad display inverter board. (The Sad Mac tends to suggest its the RAM on the board itself if the slot is empty).
     
  10. finkmacunix thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
  11. dmr727 macrumors G3

    dmr727

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Location:
    Southern California
    #11
    I'd start by opening her up and removing the memory module (assuming yours has one). This will force you to reseat the video cable too. Boot it with just the base 2MB of RAM and see if that fixes anything. If not, then yeah - it's probably gonna require a logic board replacement. If that ends up being the case, it might be easier to find another whole PB 100 - and that way you have spare parts too.
     
  12. MacTech68 macrumors 68000

    MacTech68

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #12
    Whilst I suspect a bad RAM chip on the logic board, it could be another case of leaking surface mount electrolytic capacitors etching tracks.

    :(
     
  13. finkmacunix thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    #13
    I figured I'd need another PB100…
    Mine Doesn't have a RAM expansion card…
    All it has is the CPU/Memory Daughter Card…
    I already opened it up, and tried to reseat the video cable…
     
  14. Strimkind macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    #14
    You could find a replacement Daughter card on ebay. That may solve the bad memory issue.
     
  15. toolbox macrumors 68020

    toolbox

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Location:
    Australia (WA)
    #15
    I found this intersting link yesterday, what your having with your PB is kinda the same thing i am having with my old se/30

    http://inbox.apana.org.au/?p=1342

    Seems to be some capacitors that are causing it. It causes loss of sound / Video.
     
  16. finkmacunix thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    #16
    I think my mac classic has SimasiMac as well…
    However sometimes I am able to boot it to the desktop and use my apps…
    Maybe it is the daughtercard, because there are RAM chips on it…
     

Share This Page