PowerBook G3 Walstreet blinking light

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Ih8reno, Jan 13, 2016.

1. Ih8reno macrumors 65816

Ih8reno

Hi everyone

Just picked up a G3 walstreet and cannot seem to get it to work. When I opened it I inserted working ram and realized that the heatsink screw wasn't attached so I put one in. The PowerBook boots and even goes to desktop. That's when suddenly it shuts off and the light on the bottom right of the display blinks. Anyone have any ideas why this keeps happening? Before I connected the heat sink cover properly it wouldn't even boot and would say there was a bus error. Any help would be appreciated!

2. CooperBox, Jan 13, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2016

CooperBox macrumors 6502a

CooperBox

Can't help you as I'm no expert on these Powerbooks, but suggest you try the same query also on the Apple Collectors forum here. There are some very knowledgeable guys there too who can certainly help.
    Seems a sound bet that the heat-shield screw was left out for a good reason, maybe shorting out something underneath when fitted and tightly secured.
    --- Post Merged, Jan 13, 2016 ---
    Think I found something which might help. What length screw did you use as a replacement in the middle of the heat-shield? If you used one the same length as the edge retaining screw, that could be your problem as the middle screw must be shorter.

3. Ih8reno thread starter macrumors 65816

Ih8reno

Removed the screw same thing. Also tried resetting pram, booting off cd, changing ram slots, changing actual ram. All shut down at the desktop with flashing green light...

4. Gamer9430 macrumors 68020

Gamer9430