Powerbook G4 1.33 12" screen...broken?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by zhivago1955, Mar 12, 2013.

  1. zhivago1955 macrumors member

    zhivago1955

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Location:
    Oregon
    #1
    Hello, Within 3-5 minutes the screen goes haywire, is this a screen,inverter board, or logic board issue? Any advise or suggestion would be appreciated.

    THX
    zhivago
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Goftrey macrumors 68000

    Goftrey

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    #2
    Is the GPU the GeForce4 420 Go? This is a bit of shot in the dark, but back when I had my 12" over time I began to get artefacts on screen that are very similar to what you're getting, when doing something even 'relatively' intense (iTunes visualiser, Top Sites etc.), this got worse as time went on & I ended up coming to the conclusion that it's the GPU. It seemed I wasn't alone either as a few other people posted similar experiences with that card.
     
  3. PowerPCMacMan macrumors 6502a

    PowerPCMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Location:
    PowerPC land
    #3
    Dude,

    I think your video chip might be shot.. But the best way to test to see if its just the screen and not the chip. Hook up your machine to a monitor. If its NOT exhibiting the same behavior, then the video is fine.. and just your screen is broken.. If not, then the video is bad and this means a whole new logic board is needed

    You can't just unsolder the video chip and put a new on in there, though I suppose you can. Best bet is to find either a new machine or get the logic board for it.

    Here are some places to start:

    www.dvwarehouse.com
    www.applecomponents.com

    Both are cool and I use them all the time when I need parts.

     
  4. MisterKeeks macrumors 68000

    MisterKeeks

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #4
    No, his has a GeForce FX Go5200.
     
  5. Zotaccian macrumors 6502a

    Zotaccian

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    #5
    Yes it seems like a graphics card issue. Sometimes the chip itself is bad and need to be replaced (likely to be pricey) and sometimes it is "just" the solder connection which is bad and it can either be resoldered (cheaper) or reballed (more expensive). Getting a new board is also an option.

    Is that supposed to be OS X installation screen?
     
  6. zhivago1955 thread starter macrumors member

    zhivago1955

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Location:
    Oregon
    #6

    Yes, I was in the process of upgrading OS X. Can the chip be replaced?
     
  7. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #7
    Not worth it, a replacement Logic board on Ebay is cheaper, that is, if you find one.
    Or, even a whole "new" 12' G4.
     
  8. MisterKeeks macrumors 68000

    MisterKeeks

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #8
    Even if it was worth it, it couldn't be replaced.
     

Share This Page