PowerBook G4 1.33 run leopard well?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Davy.Shalom, Dec 23, 2008.

1. Davy.Shalom macrumors 6502

Davy.Shalom

Hey guys, I've been using macs since 2001, but I have a hardware related question. Do you think leopard will run smoothly on a powebook G4 with the following specs:
    1.33 ghz G4
    250 GB 5400 rpm HDD
    1.25 GB ram
    Nvidia geforce 5200 go

I am thinking of upgrading since I plan on using this system through high school, and I don't want to be running an obsolete OS. Anyway, apple is dumping support for the powerpc with the release of snow leopard, so I have to upgrade this year.

Tell me what you think.

*this was typed on an iPod touch. Please excuse any spelling errors.

2. mackiwilad macrumors member

Hey mate

Yeah you should be fine. I'm running Leopard on my iBook of that generation (in fact your RAM is much better than mine) and it works great!
    Of course it would always run faster if I had 2gig of RAM but... $..

3. dukebound85 macrumors P6

dukebound85

i have a 1ghz emac 512 ram and it runs. beachballs alot though so its a ram issue for sure

i think youll be fine

4. chaosbunny macrumors 68000

chaosbunny

I just helped a friend to install Leopard on a 1.33 ghz iBook with less ram and it works great. You should have no problems.

5. GekkePrutser macrumors 6502a

GekkePrutser

I used to have a PowerBook 1.33 Ghz, Leopard itself worked totally fine but I found that many programs were pretty slow. That's why I got rid of mine eventually and got a MacBook instead :'( I still miss the great build quality of the powerbook though. Especially with the small size of the 12" that should be rock solid.

It really depends what you do with it. If you just want to web surf / email you'll be ok (although really heavy flash pages can get slow on it). But if you want to get into heavy photo editing (Photoshop etc), it won't really do anymore. It didn't work for me anyway.