Powerbook G4 15 Memory Question

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by DMAR, Dec 16, 2012.

  1. DMAR macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    #1
    Can anyone help me understand how much memory I have used on my Powerbook G4 15? I have had it for quite some time and I am afraid that it will not be able to handle all of the pictures and software I have been down loading--I have the greatest appreciation for people who understand computers. I am a novice and can use some expert advice!
    Here is some additional information:
    Memory 4GB 1067 mHz DDR3
    Processor 2.4 GHz Intel Core 1.5
    Thanks so much
     
  2. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #2
    :confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:

    Powerbook with intel inside???

    That is not a Powerbook G4, those had PPC processors, not only that, maximum memory was 2GB officially.

    That's a MacBookPro you have!
     
  3. DMAR thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    #3
    You are correct--Thanks for the clarification...here is the info I have cut and pasted from my about my mac:
    Hardware Overview:

    Model Name: MacBook Pro
    Model Identifier: MacBookPro6,2
    Processor Name: Intel Core i5
    Processor Speed: 2.4 GHz
    Number Of Processors: 1
    Total Number Of Cores: 2
    L2 Cache (per core): 256 KB
    L3 Cache: 3 MB
    Memory: 4 GB
    Processor Interconnect Speed: 4.8 GT/s
    Boot ROM Version: MBP61.0057.B0C
    SMC Version (system): 1.58f16

    My question is how do I find out how much memory I have used and how much I have left?
    thanks
     
  4. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #4
    You have 4 GB inside, you can use Activity Monitor to see how much memory is in use and free.

    A better way in my opinion is to get MenuMeters, it's a free menu enhancement, You can get it here, give it a try.

    Like to hear from you if you like it.

    Also, your mac support 8 GB, for a bit of money you can upgrade.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. DMAR thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    #5
    I will try your suggestions! I am pretty bad at this so I am not sure when I can write you back! But will do my best--you are a great help!
     
  6. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #6
    Will MenuMeters work on a MacBookPro?

    There is also iStat Menus.
     
  7. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #7
    Yes

    iStat Menus sux, and I think it's not free.
     
  8. MisterKeeks macrumors 68000

    MisterKeeks

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #8
    Just so you know, memory is referred to as RAM. It isn't where your files are stored. That is the Hard Disk, or HDD. To find out how much space is left on your Hard Drive, you can select the icon that looks like [​IMG],
    go to the File menu at the top right, and select "Get Info". That is where you will see something that looks like this:[​IMG]

    The capacity is the full size of the Hard Drive, the Used size is the amount of space you have taken with your files, and the available size is how much space you have left.

    ----------


    You can get version 2 for free, but that is from 2009 and doesn't support the OP's Macbook Pro or his operating system.
     
  9. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #9

    :D:D
    You might be completely right here, read it once more and I think you are right he is referring to disk space not RAM.
     
  10. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #10
    Cool, didn't know MenuMeters worked on the MBP (why I asked).

    I prefer iStatMenus, but it does have issues.
     

Share This Page