PowerBook G4 and WPA wireless

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Jony Mac, Mar 30, 2011.

  1. Jony Mac, Mar 30, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2011

    Jony Mac macrumors 6502

    Jony Mac

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #1
    I have a PB Ti G4 (Model: M8592LL/A) with the original Airport card. I cant get this to connect to WPA networks. WEP wireless works fine.

    When I have a network set as WPA the PowerBook sees the network and when I attempt to join it recognizes it as a "WPA Personal" network, however I cannot join the network at all.

    Is there anything I can do for this? Do I have to buy an Airport Extreme card??
     
  2. Jony Mac thread starter macrumors 6502

    Jony Mac

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #2
    Also I have tried using a Linksys WCP54G wireless card, but cannot get any Mac drivers for this...
     
  3. Skip Magnuson macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    #3
    PB G4 WEP to WPA

    HI Jbosi,
    I also have a PB G4 that use to connect to my old wireless but with my new Motorola modem/router/wireless it can only connect to the internet via Ethernet cable. I have an airport card in my G4 - if I change to an Airport Extreme card will it connect via WPA? Do you know? Now when I try to connect it indicates WEP which I guess is the old protocall.
    Skip
     
  4. Hrududu macrumors 68020

    Hrududu

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Location:
    Central US
    #4
    What version of Mac OS are you using? I've got a pair of TiBooks with original Airport cards connecting to my WPA networks.
     
  5. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #5
    The original Airport cards can do WPA, but only on 10.3.9 and above. If you're having trouble connecting, try turning off the router's N mode if it has it. I've found turning it off helps it connect.
     
  6. Skip Magnuson macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    #6
    WEP vs. WPA on G4 PowerBook

    Hi Hradudu and Intell,
    Thanks for responding. I am running OS 10.4.11 on my G4 so that I can use Classic. I'm not sure what the N mode is on the router but I'll see if I can find it and turn it off. I'll report back on success or lack thereof.
    Thanks.
    Skip
     
  7. Jony Mac thread starter macrumors 6502

    Jony Mac

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #7
    MY Ti G4 is running 10.4.11..i have no N wireless only a G/B modem..WPA / WPA2 does not work...only WEP.
     
  8. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #8
    Try setting your WPA to TKIP only. I don't think it works with AES.
     
  9. kensenjiha macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Location:
    Some terrible place
    #9
    I remember My PowerBook G4 doesn't support WPA, with Tiger. But Leopard is ok. Just upgrade to 10.5.x. :apple:
     
  10. RobertMatthysen macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    #10
    Unable to connect using WPA

    I have a G4PB 867MHz, late 2002, with built-in airport card firmware v9.52 and OS 10.4.11. I can connect to WEP or none but not WPA/WPA2 with TKIP&/orAES, even 11b only, still won't connect. Strange that it recognizes all the flavours of WPA (wants pw) but no connection. Anybody, any clues?
     
  11. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #11
    Have you tried setting your wireless to only WPA with TKIP?

    I suggest you only do this as a test and not leave it in that configuration.
     
  12. RobertMatthysen macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    #12
    Yes I did and NG. Also upgraded to 10.5 then all the updates and still NG as a previous post suggested this was only a Tiger issue.
    Any more clues, is there a cheap airport card replacement that can be fitted to replace the present card?
    thanks,
    Robert
     
  13. pacmania1982 macrumors 6502a

    pacmania1982

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    #13
    Take a look on the card. If it says 128bit on it somewhere, then it will connect to a WPA encrypted network. If it doesn't have 128bit then its the first first generation and it'll never connect.

    pac
     
  14. jefflamonica macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    #14
    PB Ti and MiFi hotspot WPA/WPA2

    I am told that only AirPort Extreme cards, regardless of OS version, can do WPA2. I have a 1GHz PB Ti (DVI) running OS X 10.5 (with a regular AirPort Card) and still no dice. AirPort Extreme card is not compatible with my PB. Looking for an option -- maybe a USB wireless device which will connect to my Verizon/Novatel MiFi 4510L. Tried setting the MiFi to WPA security, but still won't connect.

    I can see the MiFi device under the AirPort's menu bar icon, but login fails. In the Network preferences panel, I can see the device until I go to the Advanced pane. Then it doesn't show. Verizon was no help, although they've provided great cell phone support to me for a decade and a half.

    Anyone have any ideas for options? I also have a G4/867 Quicksilver running 10.3.9 I'd like to get connected somehow too.
     
  15. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #15
    ^^^ What about "Read The Friendly Manual" thing? It didn't help?
    You need to use a browser to configure your MiFi device first. Try set encryption to WPA and it should work. I use a Clamshell iBook with original AP card (w/ 10.4.11) and it "does" WPA without problems (but not WPA2 OFC). I've set my AP Express to WPA/WPA2 Presonal. IDK your specific Verizon device but AP must be restarted after encryption method change.
     
  16. stroked, Aug 23, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2012

    stroked Suspended

    stroked

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    #16
    Can you explain how to set the AP express to WPA? I just bought the Verizon MiFi, and my newer iBook connects, but my TiBook will not.

    edit, I am running Leopard on both Macs.
     
  17. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
  18. totallytech macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    #18
    Hey, Sorry to pull up such an old thread but I am completely stuck with this one...

    I have an iBook PowerPC G3 (900MHz) with 640MB Ram. The Airport card I have says 128 bit on it, and the firmware is 9.52 however it just refuses to connect to anything other than WEP or Open.

    I need this to connect to a WPA network.

    Is there anything I can do?
     
  19. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #19
    What operating system are you currently running?
     
  20. Anonymous Freak macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #20
    BIG bit of necessary information this thread didn't previously have:

    The original AirPort card only works with WPA if it is WPA1, not WPA2. And it only works in OS X 10.3.9 or later.

    WPA will not work, in any form, on OS 9 or in OS X 10.3.8 or earlier.

    WPA2 will not work, in any OS, with an original AirPort card.
     
  21. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #21
    The device identifier is not available in the Apple AirPort drivers. A bit of Googling uncovered this. Use this at your own risk and discretion.
     
  22. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #22
    You replied to a four year old post...
     
  23. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #23
    Sorry. Should have looked at the dates...
     
  24. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #24
    No need to be sorry. This is a lovely thread that's come back before.
     
  25. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #25
    Well, for any PowerPC enthusiasts with that card, give those scripts a shot to see how they do...
     

Share This Page