PowerBook G4 Crash Constantly

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Nitrogen7, Mar 16, 2008.

  1. Nitrogen7 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    #1
    I just posted about my iTunes crashing on my powerbook g4(1.25ghz, 2gig ram, OS 10.5.2), but now it's everything. I would be using Safari for 15 minutes, it will crash. I will be using Word 08 and it'll crash. Last time the fan jumped in after 14 minutes of me watching a video in full screen and then a little later it crashed. Force quit won't work, only manual shutdown. Ive only used it for about a week since i got it from a friend who says this never happened. Never happened in the weeks of me using it either. Can anyone please help me?
     
  2. Silent!Avenger macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    #2
    I had similar problems with leopard. Finally after one forced shut down some file was lost and I had to reinstall the OS. I just stuck with Tiger for the time being. As for Word 08, they just released a fix for it.
     
  3. Nitrogen7 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    #3
    It was fine before, this just started today. I don't think it's just word since i was streaming a movie online and it froze as well. I had it on for like 3 hours once, nothing happened.
     
  4. benlangdon macrumors 65832

    benlangdon

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    #4
    erase and install?
    disk utility repair permissions?
    hardware test?
     
  5. Nitrogen7 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    #5
    i just got into the mac community (windows before). What you just said flew over my head except for the reinstall lol.
     
  6. benlangdon macrumors 65832

    benlangdon

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    #6
    well there is probably your problem.
    going to the guineas bar is a great learning experience

    anyway
    open apps folder
    open utilities
    click on disk Utility
    select the hdd either the top one or the one directly in a bit and below it
    then click under the white box repair permissions

    if you do not see a big white box click first aid and it will be there.

    and the hard ware test
    put your original leopard or such cd (the first if you have two)
    click restart
    then hold d when booting up
    then under the box that says test there is a box that you should check as its more extensive.
    then wait an hour or two
     
  7. Angrist macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Location:
    MI or NJ
    #7
    Sounds like a hardware problem, probably RAM.
    Either run a hardware test CD, or take it to the Genius bar.
     
  8. Nitrogen7 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    #8
    i just realized that it on my harddrive window, it shows 2 devices under "shared". those were from computers connected last night, but i'm in a different location now. But it's still there. Could that be the promblem? if so, how do i remove them.
     
  9. benlangdon macrumors 65832

    benlangdon

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    #9
    ?????????????????????
    no clue
    genius bar:cool:
     
  10. Nitrogen7 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    #10
    the closest mac store near here is one that's part of bestbuy. Its just a small section where they sell mac products, not sure if they would have a genius bar.
     
  11. Nitrogen7 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    #11
    and what i meant before is that i was at a friend's house last night, was on their network. Then we played some Lan games for 2 hours, and i came home. Now, im back on my own network, but it still shows 2 shared computers on my list between Devices and Places (under shared). Now i can't connect to these devices for the obvious reason that they aren't on my network. Are they supposed to still be up on here? If not, how would i fix it?
     
  12. benlangdon macrumors 65832

    benlangdon

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    #12
    ya the best buy help there is a joke.
    do not even try you will waste your time.
    as i was at best buy the other day and some guy brought in his whole imac keyboard mouse every single cord and the guy was like go to genius bar. i told him not to bring all the extra stuff as he looked retarded and thats annoying bringing all that.
     
  13. Nitrogen7 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    #13
    i tried running the harddrive thing, it crashed before i could do anything.
     
  14. benlangdon macrumors 65832

    benlangdon

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    #14
    sol:rolleyes:

    best fix of all, and will help in every aspect of your life by deleting frustration.

    1. take your computer or laptop and unplug it

    2. go to home depot, buy either a cinder block or a brick (1 will do but more helps)

    3. put item described in #2 in your hand and go around 8 ft away from your computer

    4. throw it at the computer

    man do i want to make a video of this.
     
  15. Nitrogen7 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    #15
    the disk permission repair isnt going anywhere...its stuck at one point and it just says "Estimated time left: less than 1 minute" and my iStats show cpu usage of 96% ish
     
  16. benlangdon macrumors 65832

    benlangdon

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    #16
    does it say not responding?
    everything that does something will either say 123232 hours left or 1 min. take a guess in between and go do something else
     
  17. Nitrogen7 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    #17
    well it hasnt froze in 20 min.. dont want to jinx myself.

    but i uninstalled azures and gimp, since azueres crashed on me last night and i just installed gimp last night. dont know which one could of caused the promblem.
     
  18. benlangdon macrumors 65832

    benlangdon

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    #18
    so it hasn't froze before then?
     
  19. Nitrogen7 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    #19
    no Azurues crashed on me last night and i couldnt quit it, but everything else ran fine. So i just ignored it since i only needed to use the powerbook for 10 minutes. And when i booted it up this morning it started happening.
     
  20. benlangdon macrumors 65832

    benlangdon

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    #20
    ?????????
    maybe azurues?
    is it only for intel or powerpc
    as that will make it crash
     
  21. Angrist macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Location:
    MI or NJ
    #21
    I assume that you've shut down and reboot, not just put the machine to sleep, correct?
    When azureus hangs sometimes the background process keeps running and can cause problems. But once you completely shut down it should be gone and fine.

    If I were in your position, I'd re-boot into single user mode, run fsck and memtest to check the filesystem and memory, then move on from there.

    Let me see if I can dig up links to those two procedures. You may want to search the forum for old posts that mention similar problems.
     

Share This Page