PowerBook G4 hangs

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by powermi, Jun 24, 2013.

  1. powermi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2013
    Location:
    Avila (Spain)
    #1
    Hello again, i have a powerbook g4 that i bought few weeks ago. its a 1ghz 15" aluminum.
    after bought it i have added another RAM module of 512 MB that was working on other ibook, and installed Lubuntu on it, with out any problem.
    Yesterday i formated the HD and Installed Debian and the osX 10.5.. but the problem becomes after booting on osX cause the powerbook hangs, it shows a black screen asking me to turn off the computer by pressing the power button for more than 2 secs. i have tried to change the RAM modules between them and with other in other computers and the problem stays.

    Mi question is: is there any way to know why the message is displayed? somehow to get more info?

    Thanks a lot.
     
  2. skinniezinho macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    Portugal
    #2
    that is a kernel panic.
    Do debian work fine?
     
  3. rabidz7 macrumors 65816

    rabidz7

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Location:
    Ohio
    #3
    How long after booting does it crash?
     
  4. powermi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2013
    Location:
    Avila (Spain)
    #4
    in debian everything is OK, only sometimes the browser quits and reboot.
    in osX it hang about one minute after booting.
     
  5. rabidz7 macrumors 65816

    rabidz7

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Location:
    Ohio
    #5
    When you arrive at the desktop, click report problem, then view the report and copy and paste it into a post and post the report.

    Cuando llegas al desktop, clic en "report problem", y mira el informe, y copia lo en on post de este foró.
     
  6. powermi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2013
    Location:
    Avila (Spain)
    #6
    thanks, lets see if there are any help on the text.
    Unresolved kernel trap(cpu 0): 0x300 - Data access DAR=0x000000000000004C PC=0x0000000000B67EC0
    Latest crash info for cpu 0:
    Exception state (sv=0x35b91000)
    PC=0x00B67EC0; MSR=0x00009030; DAR=0x0000004C; DSISR=0x40000000; LR=0x00B67E5C; R1=0x2C473A00; XCP=0x0000000C (0x300 - Data access)
    Backtrace:
    0x00B67E5C 0x00B45F10 0x00B673F4 0x003749BC 0x0037A424 0x0037A574
    0x0008F004 0x0002C1B4 0x00024C88 0x000B264C 0x6B65793E
    Kernel loadable modules in backtrace (with dependencies):
    com.apple.ATIRadeon9700(5.1.8)@0xb3b000->0xb94fff
    dependency: com.apple.iokit.IONDRVSupport(1.5)@0x66f000
    dependency: com.apple.iokit.IOPCIFamily(2.4)@0x635000
    dependency: com.apple.iokit.IOGraphicsFamily(1.5)@0x649000
    Proceeding back via exception chain:
    Exception state (sv=0x35b91000)
    previously dumped as "Latest" state. skipping...
    Exception state (sv=0x35bedc80)
    PC=0x964049D8; MSR=0x0200F030; DAR=0x00607048; DSISR=0x40000000; LR=0x9640B900; R1=0xBFFFE8C0; XCP=0x00000030 (0xC00 - System call)

    BSD process name corresponding to current thread: WindowServer

    Mac OS version:
    9B21

    Kernel version:
    Darwin Kernel Version 9.1.0: Wed Oct 31 17:48:21 PDT 2007; root:xnu-1228.0.2~1/RELEASE_PPC
    panic(cpu 0 caller 0xFFFF0003): 0x300 - Data access
    Latest stack backtrace for cpu 0:
    Backtrace:
    0x0009AD18 0x0009B6BC 0x00029DC4 0x000AEA90 0x000B22F8
    Proceeding back via exception chain:
    Exception state (sv=0x35b91000)
    PC=0x00B67EC0; MSR=0x00009030; DAR=0x0000004C; DSISR=0x40000000; LR=0x00B67E5C; R1=0x2C473A00; XCP=0x0000000C (0x300 - Data access)
    Backtrace:
    0x00B67E5C 0x00B45F10 0x00B673F4 0x003749BC 0x0037A424 0x0037A574
    0x0008F004 0x0002C1B4 0x00024C88 0x000B264C 0x6B65793E
    Kernel loadable modules in backtrace (with dependencies):
    com.apple.ATIRadeon9700(5.1.8)@0xb3b000->0xb94fff
    dependency: com.apple.iokit.IONDRVSupport(1.5)@0x66f000
    dependency: com.apple.iokit.IOPCIFamily(2.4)@0x635000
    dependency: com.apple.iokit.IOGraphicsFamily(1.5)@0x649000
    Exception state (sv=0x35bedc80)
    PC=0x964049D8; MSR=0x0200F030; DAR=0x00607048; DSISR=0x40000000; LR=0x9640B900; R1=0xBFFFE8C0; XCP=0x00000030 (0xC00 - System call)

    BSD process name corresponding p
     
  7. rabidz7 macrumors 65816

    rabidz7

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Location:
    Ohio
    #7
    It looks like an issue with GPU kexts.
     
  8. powermi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2013
    Location:
    Avila (Spain)
    #8
    think so, dont know wich could be the issue, today have do nothing wrong on osx, but on linux i had to erase the browser and install a new one.
    Thanks so much.
     
  9. Nameci macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #9
    What version of 10.5 are you installing? 10.5.6? Your installer might not have the right driver for the PB. I might be wrong, but worth looking into.
     
  10. powermi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2013
    Location:
    Avila (Spain)
    #10
    the osx is the 10.5.8

    sometimes it hangs during surfing the net, othertimes just installing a program, and othertimes no issues at all. not every hang shows the black screen message that ask to turnoff the computer, simply hangs it selft.

    same issue with only one RAM modulle or two.
     
  11. mayuka macrumors 6502a

    mayuka

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    #11
    Maybe the graphics card is not the best anymore. Some models were known to cause problems after some time. I remember that the 1,25 GHz Mac mini shipped with defunct graphic cards. First symptoms were flickering issues. However.... Have you tried to run a hardware test (AHT) on the machine?
     
  12. powermi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2013
    Location:
    Avila (Spain)
    #12
    AHT says that is no compatible with my machine.
     
  13. mayuka macrumors 6502a

    mayuka

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    #13
    Then you do not have the original discs that came with it or inserted the wrong ones. AHT was also downloadable for some time on the Apple website. They removed it however. If you do not manage to start AHT, try to search for memtester or memory tester. I really suspect that your RAM is defective somehow. Either that or your graphics card. Lets just hope it's not the RAM soledered to the Logic Board.
     
  14. skinniezinho macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    Portugal
    #14
  15. powermi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2013
    Location:
    Avila (Spain)
    #15
    thanks.. i have run the mem test, and when is going to end the systems shows the black scuared screen that ask you to turn off the computer. the keyboard is really hot, and this happens with only one mudulle of RAM with 512 MB, this afternoon ill change the RAM to the other slot and ill see the results.
    i dont know why nothing appends on Linux. Perhaps somo issue with the logicboard? bad RAM slots?

    lets see...
     
  16. skinniezinho macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    Portugal
    #16
    some systems are more sensitive than other.
    Try another slot, or even without one (just the soldered one).
    If it fails you can come the conclusion that something in your motherboard (or instalation) maybe be failing.
    I would do this order:

    1 - memtest without any ram - if passes go to step 2
    2 - clean your memory dimm with a rubber (the contacts), memtest again => fail, try another dimm
    3 - same as 2, if the new stick fails, run AHT
    4 - aht fails, you have a problem.aht passes, reinstall osx.
     
  17. Zotaccian macrumors 6502a

    Zotaccian

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    #17
    Try booting in safe mode by pressing Shift key after you power up the machine. Keep pressed until the spinning gear appears.

    Safe mode does disable hardware acceleration of graphics card and if I remember correctly also Airport and Bluetooth, I don't own a Mac at the moment so I can't test.. but anyways, in safe mode atleast the graphics card is not fully utilized and with many Intel Macs when graphics cards fail or start to fail machines might work fine in safe mode (well, without video acceleration) but once booting into normal mode problems will appear. Even though Linux-distros install into very broad set of hardware the driver quality is not always the best, especially with video hardware and now we are even talking about Linux for PowerPC. I'm pretty sure the graphics card and the system in general is not fully utilized in when running Linux.
     
  18. powermi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2013
    Location:
    Avila (Spain)
    #18
    ill try this first... but i think that my powerbook doesnt have any soldered RAM on board. Have to test a few RAM modulles instead in different positions.
     
  19. MisterKeeks macrumors 68000

    MisterKeeks

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #19
    Doesn't have to be RAM on motherboard that's failing.
     
  20. powermi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2013
    Location:
    Avila (Spain)
    #20
    i have changed the RAM module to the top bank, and till the moment no issues, and the men test is OK here.
    I dont know if would be a problem of the mother board or with only the button memory bank. the worst is that i would have to look for a 1GB module to use the computer not only for surfing the web.

    BTW i have notice that the computer is quite HOT at the top of the keyboard and the power switch, i dont know if is it normal.

    thanks.
     
  21. mayuka macrumors 6502a

    mayuka

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    #21
    Good luck finding new memory that is working.

    This is normal when the computer is being used. You should monitor and install the application G4FanControl.
     

Share This Page