Powerbook G4 won't restart or shut down

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by macstatic, Oct 9, 2011.

  1. macstatic macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    #1
    For some unknown reason my Powerbook G4 (MacOSX 10.5.8) often doesn't want to shut down or restart. I've tried to do a force quit (ALT-CMD-ESC) and that window pops up, but without any apps to quit, so the only way to turn my computer off is to hold down the power button for several seconds.
    I've tried fixing the permissions, but that didn't solve the issue. Having read similar threads I've also looked at the OSX console which does seem to give some errors (though I don't know what they mean):

    09.10.11 23:01:08 com.apple.launchd[1] (com.apple.RemoteDesktop.PrivilegeProxy) Unknown key for boolean: EnableTransactions
    09.10.11 23:01:08 com.apple.launchd[1] (com.apple.usbmuxd) Unknown key for boolean: EnableTransactions
    09.10.11 23:01:08 com.apple.launchd[1] (org.cups.cupsd) Unknown key: SHAuthorizationRight
    09.10.11 23:01:08 com.apple.launchd[1] (org.ntp.ntpd) Unknown key: SHAuthorizationRight
    09.10.11 23:01:08 com.apple.launchd[1] (org.x.privileged_startx) Unknown key for boolean: EnableTransactions
    09.10.11 23:01:30 com.apple.launchd[1] (com.apple.UserEventAgent-LoginWindow[71]) Exited: Terminated
    09.10.11 23:01:30 com.apple.launchctl.Aqua[87] launchctl: Couldn't stat("/etc/mach_init_per_user.d"): No such file or directory


    Any ideas anyone?
     
  2. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
  3. Tanner1294 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    #3
    Try resetting the PRAM. To do this restart or shutdown the computer and turn it back on. When you hear the chime press and hold Command, Option, P, and R. The computer should stay black and eventually play the chime again as if it restarted. Once you hear the second chime you can let go and let it boot. This tends to be the solution to a lot of problems like this (my powermac G4's needs to be reset about once a month). If it doesn't seem to work you could try this: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1431?viewlocale=en_US
     
  4. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #4
    TBH, second one only makes sense in OP's situation. PRAM doesn't store any power management info.
     
  5. Tanner1294 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    #5
    True but I figured I'd mention it because I've had an iMac and a PowerMac not boot because the PRAM needed to be reset. Oh and an old PB5300 but that's whole 'nother story. Also it's at least a harmless command that who knows, might work :)
     
  6. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #6
    Sure, but OP's problem is that his computer won't shut down or restart. It boots perfectly :D
     
  7. Tanner1294 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    #7
    Haha, well yes but on Linux at least the two (or three if you count restart separately) are basically one in the same ;)
     
  8. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #8
    I won't argue about Linux (I hate it :D), but believe me (or not) PRAM has nothing to do with power management on Macs.
     
  9. Tanner1294 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    #9
    I believe you, it says on the Apple support site that some things stored are yadda yadda nothing about power management :p And personally I love Linux, but I also love how Mac is Unix-like also and it actually works when I need to it too.
     
  10. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #10
    OP, if PMU reset won't help, it could be an OS issue (as goMac suggested).
    Try to create new user account and see if problem occurs on this one too.
     
  11. Tanner1294 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    #11
    Come to think of it, no one's asked this: What happens when you tell it to shut down? Does it go blue with a spinning gear? Or is your wallpaper there with a spinning gear? Or does nothing at all happen?
     

Share This Page