PowerBook upgrade or New Mac? Poor Highschool teacher needs help!

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by hunterofmacs, Sep 23, 2008.

1. hunterofmacs macrumors newbie

Hello all, I am an school teacher and academic who is in serious need of advise in terms of should I refurbish my existing computer or replace.
    Some context: I am a high school teacher and part time graduate studies student in a Liberal Arts program (history). I use my computer for writing (in word), gathering academic documents (pdf files) from the internet, and general email and web surfing. On occasion I watch a DVD (but this is not an essential thing for me).

Presently I have an older PowerBook G4 17inch, not sure what generation it is but I got it just before they switched to the intel chips.

I’ve been having problems with it recently – it’s slow, it cannot handle some webpages, applications crash frequently, sometimes it does not really want to bootup correctly, some applications seem to be too old to update to accommodate new internet pages (flash, etc…)

Anyways – I’m thinking I have two options - replace or refurbish

Refurbish – take it in for a tune up, repave the HD, reinstall the OS, upgrade my 512 of Ram to a Gig (which I think is the max) – will this work for me?

Replace – should I just resign myself to the fact that its too old to interface with most modern applications.

My conumdrum is, if I replace -- what to replace it with? I bought the 17 because I like the big screen – but it is so heavy and its so hard to fit into a briefcase; so was thinking of going the other extreme – MacAir.

Again – no games, no graphics, just document processing and viewing documents on web and general internet searches to pull pdf files of academic papers.

Should I just stick with what I’ve got after a tune up? Will this yield reasonable results?
    Is the MacAir robust enough for me, or do I need the book or Pro?

2. Jonnyfive macrumors regular