Powerline with ethernet 10/100/1000?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Sensamic, Dec 25, 2010.

  1. Sensamic macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    #1
    Hi.

    I want to buy a Powerline so I can have an ethernet network on my home without too much difficulty. A powerline seems like a great choice, but they all come with ethernet 10/100 only. I want to attach a NAS (DS1511+ with 180mbps reads/writes), so I think I'll need all the extra power possible. Therefore, I'm searching for a powerline with ethernet 10/100/1000, but cant find any.

    Does someone know a brand and model?

    Do this powerline perform well for use with a NAS?

    Thanks!
     
  2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    You won't get 1000 over powerline, the signal-to-noise ratio is too high.
     
  3. Sensamic thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    #3
    I know, but at least this way I could get the maximum transfer rates, right?

    I mean, better to have 10/100/1000 than just 10/100. Maybe I could get a few more Mbps with a gigabit powerline, enough to make smoother the playback of HD video, for example.
     
  4. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #4
    But, it isn't possible, so they can't sell something that claims it is.
     
  5. Sensamic thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    #5
    I just found a powerline 500mbps with ethernet 10/100/1000. Its a TRENDnet. Looks very very good. Maybe with that powerline and the DS1511+ I could get very decent speeds for video playback.
     

Share This Page