Resolved Powerlogix firmware update cd

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Ih8reno, Mar 5, 2015.

  1. Ih8reno, Mar 5, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2015

    Ih8reno macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #1
    Recently I received a Powerlogix 1ghz cpu upgrade but not the cd to update the firmware. I contacted OWC and so far the link on their site to download it can't find the file. I was hoping someone on the forum had the cd and could send me a link to download it. Mine is the Powerlogix series 100 1ghz processor upgrade 962-745X-2100 Rev 2.


    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. ctmpkmlec4 macrumors 6502

    ctmpkmlec4

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Location:
    Lyons, KS
    #2
    I have a Powerlogix CD image, but I don't know if it will work for your CPU. I downloaded it a few months ago for a 1.5 GHz Cube upgrade. I was surprised to see that OWC has taken down those files. When I get home this evening (currently 2:38 PM Central Time), I can upload the file and share it with you. Might not work, but worth a shot anyway.
     
  3. Ih8reno thread starter macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
  4. ctmpkmlec4 macrumors 6502

    ctmpkmlec4

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Location:
    Lyons, KS
    #4
    Here is the link to download the zip file which contains the disc image for the Powerlogix CD. This CD has install instructions, and it appears to have a bootable system folder, and I think this is the disc needed to update the firmware. I am not 100 percent certain. Post back and let me know if it was useful.

    Powerlogix CD Download

    Additionally, here is a download for CPU Director. I believe this lets you change cache and clock speed settings. Again, I am not sure if it's compatible with your CPU, but I'm throwing out here anyway.

    CPU Director 2.3b6


    You'll want to click the download icon and the top of the window to download the files.
     
  5. Ih8reno thread starter macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #5
    Thank you!

    I'm just a bit hesitant as my card doesn't seem to look like the ones in the manual. Should I take a chance and try?[​IMG]
     
  6. ctmpkmlec4 macrumors 6502

    ctmpkmlec4

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Location:
    Lyons, KS
    #6
    Are you sure it's a Powerlogix card? Someone else will be able to identify what brand of CPU you have. I'm not familiar with it.
     
  7. Ih8reno thread starter macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #7
    Powerlogix firmware update cd

    Well I bought it as such, seller says its a Powerlogix Series 100 as I wrote above, if anyone can help identify it would help me greatly


    http://www.cubeowner.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=10466


    Found the above online, so does this mean it's a Cube Upgrade card?
     
  8. flyrod macrumors 6502

    flyrod

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    #8
    If it's 1GHz you may not need to patch the firmware. I think only the newer CPU's like the 7447, 7457, and 7448 need the patch. You could install the card and see if it works. If not then you can swap to the previous card and then try software stuff. Also, when I ran the patch software on my computer, it seemed like it was pretty comprehensive--as in the latest CD had everything for the older CPU cards as well (at least as I remember it). Good luck.
     
  9. Ih8reno thread starter macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #9
    Tried installing on my quicksilver but it doesn't fit properly, the connection under it would require the card to sit on the ram.
     
  10. flyrod macrumors 6502

    flyrod

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    #10
    Bummer. I think that card was made for the older macs. The pictures here look like yours:

    www.ebay.com/itm/151386916803
     
  11. Ih8reno thread starter macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #11
    Damn, well I guess I'll have to get an older Mac then in my area
     
  12. gavinstubbs09 macrumors 65816

    gavinstubbs09

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    NorCal boonies ~~~by Reno sorta
    #12
    If you actually lived in Reno I have a Digital Audio here that I don't use!
     
  13. Ih8reno thread starter macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #13
    Much appreciated gesture!
     
  14. Ih8reno thread starter macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #14
    Sorry to bring up an old thread but I picked up a second Upgrade Card, believe it's a dual NewerTech card. Found it about a couple of hours away in a system marked as not having power. I believe it's compatible with my 733mhz Quicksilver so I think I'll try and install it tomorrow. Not a bad deal if it works

    [​IMG]
     
  15. flyrod macrumors 6502

    flyrod

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    #15
    That one will need a firmware patch. Good luck!
     

Share This Page