PowerMac 7600 & fool questions

Discussion in 'Apple Collectors' started by HavingFun, Sep 20, 2008.

1. HavingFun macrumors newbie

PowerMac 7600/120 OS 8.6 64mb

My background is pretty much Amiga->Win->Linux, so it's fun to finally get to play with a Mac GUI. It's different.

The fool questions:

- How do you uninstall apps? Do you really just delete the directory & alias?

- Why is it so slow when plugged into broadband? I know it's obsolete and no good for the web now - I'm just curious what the bottleneck is. You can count the kilobytes load.

- How should I copy files? I mean I can do it, just not with any grace. How am I supposed to do it in this one-button world?

- So these are buffered 3.3v DIMMs? Meaning nothing in my piles of x86 crape in the closet will fit & I should just stop looking?

- I guess it doesn't like the monitor I've given it. Runs 1024x768 800x600 640x480 just fine, but it come out of sleep mode into 1152x864 and no options. Is that fixable?

- Is anything fixable? ;) You really can't get "under the hood" for configurations on these, can you?

- It should remember my mouse speed setting across boots, right? That's got to be a glitch.

Otherwise it runs fine. I've been all through the OS and hardware as far as I can dig. Definitely a different approach. With hindsight I still would have been happier with Wintel back then, but now I can see why people got so attached to their Macs.

The difference is kinda like the x86 stuff gave you scaffolding to build your experience around, while Apple gave you a cabin to reside in. Either works, but that difference is why nobody ever got attached to any Wintel. Very neat machine.

2. jodelli macrumors 65816

jodelli

Delete the folder, and if you want delete any related files that show up elsewhere in 'Find' under 'File'.

10BASE T. 'nuff said.

You can hold the button down for other options to pop up, as well as keyboard shortcuts, some of which will be pictured along side of commands in the Menus.