Powermac G4 Case Hack

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by gibbo132, Oct 31, 2011.

  1. gibbo132 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    #1
    Hi,

    I am looking to 'hack' my G4 case and build a new computer inside it. I have watched a few videos online of people who have done it but still have a few questions.

    1. Whats the best way to make standoffs? Buy some already made and bolt (or epoxy) them into the computer. Or make my own from some brass screws?

    2. What size CD drive will fit best so it doesn't hit things on the mobo?

    Any other tips would be greatly appreciated!

    Thanks
    Chris
     
  2. adcx64 macrumors 65816

    adcx64

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #2
    Most CD drives are standard size. You shouldn't have a problem with any one on the market now.
     
  3. Tyroler macrumors member

    Tyroler

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Location:
    Hatfield, UK
    #3
    first you need a motherboard with pci slots on right place,depence your mac case.
    then you need to check that Cooler and Fan not at the Place the CD drive is.
    :D
     
  4. PurpleLogix macrumors member

    PurpleLogix

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #4
    I used the brass ones.

    You will need a micro ATX board to fit inside of the case.


    Standard DVD rom works well.
     
  5. Tyroler macrumors member

    Tyroler

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Location:
    Hatfield, UK
    #5
    But watch out.
    The micro may fit in a quicksilver or earlier (not sure for every Mac) but not in a MDD as PCI slots on the lower Site,but the Socked of PSU may be the same as MDD.
    so you need to do lots of changes,or use parts of differend Machines.
    i got me a micro for Intel 775 and got me a Quad,but ....
    No space for CD drive as Heatsink and fan needs the space.
    So i had to get me a G5 case for £50.- to fit it in.But the g5 case isn't helpfull by the way.
    Ok that motherboard is W7 compatible,but i'll try to put OSX 10.6 on
     

Share This Page