PowerMac G4 MDD, drive dead?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by NZXTInerTia, Aug 2, 2016.

  1. NZXTInerTia macrumors member

    NZXTInerTia

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #1
    PowerMac G4 MDD, 1.42GHz, 10.5.8 Leopard. I'm just loading old IDE drives in it, and one I just put it isn't recognized. Spools up fine, and its not ticking like dead drives do (Like my 6GBs/500GB/7200rpm drive just did :( ). I have it located in the upper slot, forward (front) bay. Set in slave mode, and still not recognized.
     
  2. 128keaton macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #2
    Drives don't have to tick to be dead. My money is on the drive being dead.
     
  3. NZXTInerTia thread starter macrumors member

    NZXTInerTia

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #3
    Its been a LONG time since I've owned a G4 machine, just wondering if there was a jumper I was missing, or such.
     
  4. jbarley macrumors 68030

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #4
    I believe "Cable Select" is the preferred jumper setting for your G4 MDD.
    Feel free to correct me if I'm wrong.:)
     
  5. catzilla macrumors 6502

    catzilla

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #5
    Yes, they were cable select and the connector is keyed, but, IIRC if you reverse the cable it won't work. Or maybe I'm thinking of SCSI....
     
  6. NZXTInerTia thread starter macrumors member

    NZXTInerTia

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #6
    So, I came home today to find the HDD randomly working on the system. Which means if its coming alive after all these days, its probably toast. Just thought it was funny. Titled it "Macintosh HDD 3" and we'll see how long it lasts, or if it even lasts through a reboot. lol
     

Share This Page