Powermac G4 MDD & Gforce TI 4600 (problem)

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Dimitris1980, Jan 26, 2014.

  1. Dimitris1980 macrumors newbie

    Dimitris1980

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Location:
    Athens Greece
    #1
    Hello,

    i replaced my gforce2 32mb vram with the gforce 4600 but when i turn the mac on, after 3-4 seconds it powers off. What should i do?
     
  2. Dimitris1980 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Dimitris1980

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Location:
    Athens Greece
    #2
    mistake: the previous graphics card is the nVidia GeForce 4mx 32MB


    i don't know if it is important but my mdd has installed from the seller an atx power supply.


    Thank you.
     
  3. Graveyard macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Location:
    Romania
    #3
    Is the Geforce 4 a Mac card? If it is a pc card, did you flash it with the necessary rom before putting it in the Mac? If it's agp 8x card, did you tape pins 3&11? How can we give you a hand when you don't provide any details?
     
  4. Dimitris1980 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Dimitris1980

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Location:
    Athens Greece
    #4
    It is a GForce Mac Edition. The truth is that I don't know about these technical info. I have never replaced a power supply. All i know is that the guy that sold me the power mac G4 mdd had replaced the power supply with an ATX.
     
  5. Hrududu macrumors 68020

    Hrududu

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Location:
    Central US
    #5
    Got a picture of the inside of that Mac? I'd be interested to see how he rigged up an ATX PSU in a MDD, and if it looks like he even did it right.
     
  6. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #6
    Could it be that the Mac card will not boot because it gets its power from the ADC pins, but with an ATX power supply there's no power going to the ADC slot?
     
  7. Cox Orange macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    #7

Share This Page