Resolved PowerMac G4 QuickSilver - Graphics Card Upgrade

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by AppleGeek1127, Feb 7, 2015.

  1. AppleGeek1127, Feb 7, 2015
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2015

    AppleGeek1127 macrumors member

    AppleGeek1127

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2014
    Location:
    Chicago IL, USA
    #1
    In my recently acquired PowerMac G4, I'm running the stock GeForce4 MX - I'm thinking about upgrading the card to imrove the generally usablity of the machine. Are there any inexpensive cards that support Quartz Extreme/Core Image? Thanks.
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
  3. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #3
    I'm running a Radeon 9600 in my Quicksilver. I'm currently using the 9600 Pro PC and Mac edition, although this card can sometimes be touchy in Quicksilvers.

    The 9600XT is probably more readily available and is(usually) less expensive. This was a BTO card for G5s, but will work in a G4 if pins 3 and 11 are taped. A little bit more modification will allow it to be used with an ADC display.

    On paper, the XT is a better card than the Pro(other than the pro having 2x the VRAM), but my experience in the Quicksilver shows them to be about equal.

    9600s support Core Image. 9700s and 9800s are also somewhat popular choices for some of the other G5 users in here.

    Any card that supports Core Image will also support Quartz Exteme. Your current GeForce 4MX supports Quartz Extreme.
     
  4. AppleGeek1127 thread starter macrumors member

    AppleGeek1127

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2014
    Location:
    Chicago IL, USA
    #4
    Definitely not, I use VGA. I've never owned an ADC display in my life.
     
  5. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #5
    In that case, the ATI 9600 as stated above would be a good cheap choice for you.
     
  6. AppleGeek1127 thread starter macrumors member

    AppleGeek1127

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2014
    Location:
    Chicago IL, USA
    #6
    Though I've heard about some negative experiences people have had with the 9600, I'll still consider it. Personally, I find that the video card selection for legacy systems such as these tends to be somewhat confusing. You never know what cards are better than others, and which one is the best performer overall.
     
  7. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #7
    I have three cards in my Quicksilver.

    My two primary displays are run off my Radeon 9800 Pro, which is in the AGP slot and I have a Radeon 9200 in the first PCI slot driving two displays and a flashed Radeon 7000 in my second PCI slot, also running two displays.

    If you stay away from ADC displays and based on your earlier response I have no doubt you will then you'll be fine.

    I try and stick with the period Cinema and Studio Displays though and since those are ADC I also need the Apple A1006 DVI/ADC converter. I've got three of them.

    You can find the 9800 Pro for around $50 on Amazon or eBay. You want to find the Mac version though as even with taped pins a flashed PC version or a G5 version won't work in a QS.

    The Radeon 9200 is also a good choice. ATI made an AGP version as well as a PCI version. Don't believe you'll get core image and all that with that card though.
     
  8. ptdebate macrumors 6502

    ptdebate

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2014
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    #8
    Just out of curiosity, what are the negative things you've heard about the 9600? Was it the 9600XT or 9600 Pro? I'd probably recommend the former as it is usually cheaper and runs cooler. It's also allegedly a little more powerful. I have one running in my Digital Audio and love it!
     
  9. desantii macrumors 6502

    desantii

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Location:
    Aurora, IL
    #9
    I have both 9600 and 9650 ones in two different Quicksilvers...both run great and were less than $20 on eBay.
     
  10. AppleGeek1127 thread starter macrumors member

    AppleGeek1127

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2014
    Location:
    Chicago IL, USA
    #10
    I've heard that the 9800 Pro is extremely loud and sometimes dodgey inside of QuickSilvers

    ----------

    For that price, I might as well just get one to see how I like it. $20 isn't much of a gamble.

    ----------

    Since you're one of elite who are still using a G4 QuickSilver for serious graphic work with a Radeon 9800 as your primary GPU, I figure I might well get one. If I take anyone's advice, it might as well be yours.
     
  11. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #11
    Well, it's a good card and I've not had any issues with fan noise. Then again, my Quicksilver could probably levitate a tank with all the fans I've got going so maybe it gets lost in the noise. And I'm also used to fan noise, so I don't know.

    In any case, it's a good choice too. Just power hungry.
     
  12. AppleGeek1127 thread starter macrumors member

    AppleGeek1127

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2014
    Location:
    Chicago IL, USA
    #12
    I'm used to fan noise because of my Hackintosh, so that shouldn't be too much of a problem.
     
  13. powermi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2013
    Location:
    Avila (Spain)
    #13
    Other great and not so power hungry options are: ATI 9600 Mac edition or a flashed nVidia 6200.
     
  14. Blackswan72 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #14
    I'm glad to have found this thread. I was given a 17inch Cinema display, but had to get a video card with an ADC connection. Navigating the suggestions across the web led me to get an ATI Radeon 9600 Pro 64mb, but now I'm worried it's not going to work with my G4 Quicksilver. This thread has given me some hope, though. Hoping the lower memory of the card will allow it to work with my G4. I hope I didn't make a big goof!
     
  15. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #15
    Any card you get that has a DVI connection will require some kind of adapter to work with the ADC cable of the Cinema Display. And one of those Apple ADC<>DVI adapters that were commonplace with the aluminum Cinema Displays won't work.

    No, these adapters need to provide power to the display. Apple made an adapter for it. It's referenced as the A1006.

    Up until about a year ago it was hard to find them on eBay for less than $100, but in the last year the prices have come down into the $40-50 range.

    This is what they look like:

    [​IMG]
     
  16. Blackswan72 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #16
    Thanks for the reply. The card I bought has an ADC connection. Here's the info I have from the seller (for what it's worth): "Apple ATI Radeon 9600 Pro 64MB DDR SDRAM ADC/DVI AGPx8 Heatsink Video Card" and here's a photo of the card itself. I hope this clarifies. s-l1600.jpg
     
  17. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #17
    The G5 version of the card won't natively work in a G4. However, it is possible with the help of this guide, although getting ADC working is a little difficult because of the different location of the power pins.
     
  18. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #18
    I've been running a 9600XT as per that guide in my Quicksilver for nearly a year(in fact I've even replaced the computer in that time!). I run a 23" HD Cinema acrylic off mine, and in all honesty the mod isn't difficult if you're comfortable with soldering.

    I wish that my 9700 worked. Not only is it a better card, but it's also a drop-in fit with no taping or soldering required. Unfortunately, mine won't display anything but a color pattern on the screen.
     
  19. Blackswan72 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #19
    Thanks for the information! The taping of the pins is no big deal. The soldering, however, is another story. I can honestly say I've never soldered a thing in my life. So there will be soldering involved to get the ADC working? If so, I may need to chalk this card up to experience and continue looking for a card that will work with this Quicksilver and have an ADC connection on the back.
     
  20. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #20
    It would be very difficult to get an ADC display to work on a 9600 without soldering.

    The only card that supports Core Image, ADC, and doesn't need soldering to work in a G4 is the 9700. These are rare, and from what I understand can be "touchy" in QSs. If you use one of the adapters Erik mentioned above, you can use a Radeon 9600 Pro PC&Mac(no taping required) with your ADC display. You can also use the 9600XT by only taping and using the adapter.

    If you forego core image support, your best option is a GEForce 4Ti. These are also not that common, but are more common than the 9700. This card is plug and play in all AGP G4 Macs. It has one ADC and one DVI port.
     
  21. Blackswan72 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #21
    I've made note of the card you mentioned and appreciate the suggestion. I had been avoiding the adapter because most of the examples I had seen online were in the 100+ price range. This morning I did another search and found a new listing for an adapter that was in the 50 dollar range and snagged it. I'll keep the card that's on its way since I do plan on getting myself a G5 at some point. Never hurts to have spare parts around, right? Thanks again for the assistance!
     
  22. Blackswan72 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #22
    Okay, everyone. I got the adapter today, hooked everything up, and no video! The power light on the lower right lights up yellow and is responsive to touch. The brightness display "button" on the bottom left is responsive to touch. No display, though. I tried it on both G4 computers I own, only to achieve the same result. Are my worst fears realized that I got a bad display?
     
  23. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #23
    Did you tape off pins 3 and 11 on the new card?
     
  24. Blackswan72 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #24
    oh, I jumped the gun with my post. I didn't install the new card as it hasn't arrived. However, I also bought the ADC/DVI adapter that would work with the video card I presently have with a DVI connection. I hooked up the adapter to the monitor and the g4 and powered up. No video.
     

Share This Page