Powermac G4 Quicksilver internal modem

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by kevinhooke, Apr 9, 2017.

  1. kevinhooke macrumors newbie

    kevinhooke

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2017
    Location:
    Davis, California
    #1
    Did the 2002 Powermac G4 Quicksilver come with it's internal modem on the motherboard, or was it a PCI card? I've just picked one up from ebay and neither OS9 or OS X 10.4 show that there's an internal modem. On OS X, the System Profiler when you select Modems it just shows None, and in OS9 in the Modems Control Panel beside 'Connect via' it shows '<no serial device>' (I think that was the wording, I'm not sitting in front of it right now).

    I'm wondering if it should have been a PCI card and it was taken out? If it's on the motherboard, where should I start looking to get it working?

    Thanks!
     
  2. KawaiiAurora macrumors 6502

    KawaiiAurora

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2016
    Location:
    Europa
    #2
    Should be on the motherboard. Open your QS and look for a big box on the I/O section on the back; that's your modem (it's like that on my Sawtooth). Apple didn't bundle Modem PCI cards on PowerMac G4s AFAIK. Just look for an RJ11 port on the back. Out of curiosity, why do you need to use the modem?
     
  3. kevinhooke thread starter macrumors newbie

    kevinhooke

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2017
    Location:
    Davis, California
    #3
    The RJ11 is definitely on the back of the case. Should OS X or OS9 recognize the modem automatically, or is there any other setup I would need to do?

    I was looking to dial up the Reddit Retro Battlestation BBS :) Didn't think it would be this hard. Broadband is so much easier :)
     
  4. KawaiiAurora macrumors 6502

    KawaiiAurora

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2016
    Location:
    Europa
    #4
    Never tried Dial Up on a Mac actually as it was phased out ages ago locally. If it's not detected on OS X or OS 9, it probably is defective. OS X and 9 should have drivers installed automatically.
     
  5. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #5
    The modem is located on bottom edge of the logic board(nearest the hinge) toward the front of the case. It is about the size of a playing card, wrapped with a piece of black card stock, and is mounted to the board via two stand-offs. If it has been removed, you will the the standoffs and the socket where it plugs into the LoBo. You will likely also see a small connector snaking under the logic board-this is the other end of the RJ-11 jack.

    If you don't have a modem card and want one, PM me.
     
  6. kevinhooke thread starter macrumors newbie

    kevinhooke

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2017
    Location:
    Davis, California
    #6
    Thanks for the detailed description. I found a couple of photos online and can see the board and where it sits on the standoffs, and it's definitely been removed in the machine I've got. No worries, it wasn't important, I might pick up a cheap usb modem at some point.
     

Share This Page