PowerMac G4 Restarting Random

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by naterelph, Jul 21, 2009.

  1. naterelph macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    #1
    Recently i upgraded a Powermac g4 to 1.5gb ram and put a new cpu fan in the computer ran fine for a while but now will give the error message that "you need to restart your computer" and wont let you do anything else. Does anyone have any insight to why this would happen?

    so no one has any insight as to why this will happen about an 1 hr 1/2 of running it will say it needs to be restarted and wont let you do anything but restart?
     
  2. terriblyjordan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Location:
    Racine WI
    #2
    Take the new ram out and put the old ram in and see if it still does that. If it still does the same thing then it the fan.
     
  3. naterelph thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    #3
    tried taking the ram out and it still happened and im fairly certain that it isnt the fan. it was suggested that it would be a software issue. any ideas on how to fix this?
     
  4. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #4
    Pop the OS X Install disc in and try an Archive and Install.
     
  5. Fishrrman macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #5
    RE:
    "tried taking the ram out and it still happened and im fairly certain that it isnt the fan. it was suggested that it would be a software issue. any ideas on how to fix this?"

    I'd suggest re-seating the factory RAM, and also checking ALL internal connections, cards, etc. Either wiggle them, or "break-remake" them to be sure everything is solid inside.

    - John
     

Share This Page