Powermac G4 Upgrading

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Malkavian, Oct 24, 2008.

1. Malkavian macrumors newbie

Malkavian

Hello everyone :D Ok so I'm new to MacRumors and I was looking for some help from you folk. I have created many Computers alas not Macs. I recently got a Powermac G4 466Mhz yeah its old and its not a super Intel Core 2 Duo. But my plan is to bring some life back to the old Lady I plan on upgrading it to the max I can go I will be ordering a dual G4 Processors for the system I have all ready put a 500GB Hard Drive in it and it is now running Tiger Very well I must say. It how ever has a few Flaws the stock Graphic Card is well not the best its an Ati Rage128 with 16mb Vram. The Thing is I have a few Nvidia
    Ge-Force 5200 PCI Cards there not Super but there Vram is a lot better at 128mb the problem is How The Hell do I flash it so i can use it on the mac. also Can someone tell me what's the Max PC133 Ram can go is it 512 or 1GB and Where could I get me some? at moment this mac only got 640mb Ram which is not bad but If I want to make this Mac somewhat Future Proof I will need a good few upgrades. Sorry about all the questions here and sorry people If i sound Like a newbie I'm not new to Mac and not new to computers but I can do pretty much anything with a PC and have made many from scratch.
    The Mac inside part is new to me I can under Mac OS well from OS 7 to Os X :eek:

2. applefan1997 macrumors 6502

I believe 1GB is max RAM. A 1.8GHz may be the max. I think you can flash the GPU off a PC.

3. hughvane macrumors 6502

hughvane

4. Malkavian thread starter macrumors newbie

Malkavian

Thanks for the information I will see what I can do. just need to find a way to flash graphics card on PC so it will work on the mac

5. Ninja Dom macrumors 6502

Ninja Dom

I've got an old Sawtooth PowerMac G4 400MHz. I've got 1.25Gb Ram in mine. The maximum Ram is 2Gb using Tiger and 1.5Gb using Panther.