PowerMac G5 2.0Ghz Memory question

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by donw35, Jul 26, 2010.

  1. donw35 macrumors regular

    donw35

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #1
    I have a june 2004 PowerMac, I am getting the three flashes when turned on, could be the memory or main board, the only memory I have to swap out with PC memory, out of a HP DC7100.
    512mb stick is a PC3200U-30331-A1 (512MB DDR PC3200 CL3) x 2
    1GB stick Kingston KVR400X64C3AK2/2G x 2

    Can or should these work in the G5, before I declare the MB to be bad I would like to rule out memory.
    Thanks for the help
     
  2. OrangeSVTguy macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #2
    3 flashes indicates bad/faulty memory. Try and swap out in pairs. Otherwise it won't boot.

    The memory on the board will look like this so install in pairs which is mirrored basically.

    4 - Memory Slot 4 (If available)
    3 - Memory Slot 3 (If available)
    2 - Memory Slot 2
    1 - Memory Slot 1

    1 - Memory Slot 1
    2 - Memory Slot 2
    3 - Memory Slot 3 (If available)
    4 - Memory Slot 4 (If available)
     
  3. donw35 thread starter macrumors regular

    donw35

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #3
    I know about that, I am wondering if the memory I have would be compatible to test the system
     
  4. OrangeSVTguy macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #4
    As long as it's paired and PC3200 400mhz Non-ECC memory than it should work. There's really only way to find out :)
     
  5. donw35 thread starter macrumors regular

    donw35

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #5
    ok, bummer, probably a bad MB then, any tricks I wouldn't have already found by searching ?
     

Share This Page