Powermac g5 DVI to VGA

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Nickco43, Feb 5, 2012.

  1. Nickco43 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Location:
    Philadelphia,pa
    #1
    I just got a powermac g5 and I need a VGA to dvi cable or adapter to hook it up to my monitor. Can someone recommend a cable or adapter for less than $10?
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
  3. Nickco43 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Location:
    Philadelphia,pa
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    But do you need to go from a DVI output to a VGA inout (thread title) or VGA output to a DVI input? Those are two different things, as VGA is analog only, thus needs a converter (linked to in my first reply) to make the analog VGA signals digital, if you have a VGA output.
    DVI is digital and analog, thus a cheaper adapter can be used to go from a DVI output to a VGA input (again, a link to the appropriate adapter is included in my first reply).
     
  5. MAC MAN JW macrumors 6502

    MAC MAN JW

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    Buffalo,Ny
  6. Macman756 macrumors 6502a

    Macman756

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #6
    Again, this is assuming the OP's G5 has a DVI, and he needs to connect to a VGA monitor, that's cheap, $5. If his is only VGA, and needs to convert to a DVI monitor, that is a whole different animal, like salad said, it is going from analog to digital, and needs a converter box, that is not "$10 or less"
     
  7. mezones macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    #7
    i used a dvi to vga converter.

    Question though..

    Is 640 times XXX(forgot the other) resolution the only one available?

    Love the adapter but thats the only res i can get and looks terrible on my beautiful hdtv :(
     
  8. Nickco43 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Location:
    Philadelphia,pa
    #8
    I'm trying to connect my powermac g5 (dvi output) to my VGA monitor (input)
     
  9. GermanyChris macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #9
    see post 2
     
  10. CoolmaxMini macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    #10
    Here, this is what you need.

    http://www.gainsaver.com/catalog/Detail.aspx?&CCode=2767^Apple+Parts&CCode=2793^Apple+Accessories&cICode=129704
     
  11. California macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #11
    I have the one that came with my PowerMac G5.
     

Share This Page