Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Meapplegeek

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 9, 2009
Hey guys, I am new to macrumors and i have a quick question for you guys. I just recently bought a Powermac G5 1.8 DP. I am having an issue with my cd-rom. Its not the cd-rom i have a problem with its the door that won't slid down to let the tray out. Do you guys know if the door is powered or spring loaded? Right now i manually open and close the door to get cd's in and out. Does any one have a schematic of the door assembly? or any suggestions on how to fix this issue?

Thanks!!

OrangeSVTguy

macrumors 601
Sep 16, 2007
Northeastern Ohio
Sounds like the front casing might be jamming that door. Take something flat and try to bend out the casing at the bottom of the optical drive bay door. I've seen that part get bent in just so slightly where it will affect the smooth operation of the door sliding up and down when you eject the optical drive tray.

Using some like a butter knife with tape around it works.

It's spring loaded. Which if my memory serves me right, it's near the side with the removable side door panel. Test to see if you can manually slide the door up and down with your finger, do you feel any resistance?

NoNameBrand

macrumors 6502
Nov 17, 2005
Halifax, Canada
Did you put a new CD drive in it? there's a plastic bit that needs to be removed from the drive for it to work properly. It's the very front piece that's typically embossed with DVD-ROM or CD-ROM (or whatever) logos.

The G5's optical door is operated mechanically - the extending tray hits a plastic plate that's mounted at a 45 degree angle, and attached with hinges to the computer frame at the bottom and the door at the other, so it displaces downwards when hit by the tray.

Meapplegeek

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 9, 2009