PowerMac G5 quad?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Davy.Shalom, Jan 24, 2009.

1. Davy.Shalom macrumors 6502

Davy.Shalom

Hey I am a photographer/video editor, as well as an intensive programmer. Would a G5 quad suit my needs? I am thinking of putting full 16 GB RAM, Nvidia 4500 Quadro 512 MB, and my two 1.5 TB HDDS in it. I have a bout 500 GB of photos and graphics, and I do very processor intensive work in CS4. Would this thing do all I need it to? I would also do a lot of writing, research, and use it for school as well. What do you think?

My dad bought one of these and upgraded it for use as a server at work, and I have gotten a couple of chances to work on it, but it is kind of "off limits" to the world.

2. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

BlueRevolution

Given the amount of upgrading you're planning to do, you might want to just bite the bullet and get a Mac Pro. You can pour a bunch of money into the G5 now, but then it will be as fast as it can possibly be, and once you outgrow that, you're screwed. The Mac Pro will give you a lot more room to grow.

For most people, I'd say the Power Mac G5 is still a perfectly respectable computer. I just don't know that it'll hold up to your use.

3. richard.mac macrumors 603

richard.mac

if you need to spec it out with upgrades then definitely get the G5. if not then Intel technology is way more powerful and energy efficient these days and an iMac would spank the G5 with the same amount of RAM. then theres also the future proofing argument where Snow Leopard, the next OS X, will not support PowerPC.

presuming youre attracted to the Price of the G5 but if youre after a desktop with room for upgrades the Mac Pro would be an awesome choice but comes with the price.

if you need more storage and dont need over 4GB of RAM you could always use external storage with the iMac.

4. Scottsdale macrumors 601

Scottsdale