PowerMac G5 Ultrawide?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by ZacharyFurgeson, Dec 25, 2016.

  1. ZacharyFurgeson macrumors newbie

    ZacharyFurgeson

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    Location:
    Port Orange, Florida
    #1
    Is there any way to get a 2560x1080 monitor working via HDMI on my PMG5 Quad?
     
  2. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #2
    One of these?

    [​IMG]

    I use one to connect my PowerBook and MBP to my TV.

    DVI to HDMI.

    Note that HDMI is essentially DVI with sound, which is why this works. But with the adapter you'll have to run an audio cable if you want sound from the HDMI device.
     
  3. Hrududu macrumors 68020

    Hrududu

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Location:
    Central US
    #3
    An adapter like that or a DVI - HDMI cable is all you need. Any graphics card in that machine will support the resolution.
     
  4. ZacharyFurgeson thread starter macrumors newbie

    ZacharyFurgeson

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    Location:
    Port Orange, Florida
    #4
    I have one of those, but it only allows me to output in 1920x1080
     
  5. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #5
    I'm running a 2560x1600 monitor on one of mine currently dual-head with a 1920x1200 monitor.

    The right GPU can output those resolutions without breaking a sweat-it's just a matter of the right adapter. Unfortunately, I can't suggest a specific one.
     
  6. ZacharyFurgeson thread starter macrumors newbie

    ZacharyFurgeson

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    Location:
    Port Orange, Florida
    #6
    I have a 7800gt
     
  7. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #7
    Only one port on the 7800GT is dual link, although I don't remember which. You might try the other port.
     
  8. ZacharyFurgeson thread starter macrumors newbie

    ZacharyFurgeson

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    Location:
    Port Orange, Florida
    #8
    I got it to output 2560x1080 now but it all looks distorted
     
  9. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
  10. ZacharyFurgeson thread starter macrumors newbie

    ZacharyFurgeson

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    Location:
    Port Orange, Florida
    #10
  11. ZacharyFurgeson thread starter macrumors newbie

    ZacharyFurgeson

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    Location:
    Port Orange, Florida
    #12
  12. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #13
    Well…now that I looked it up online it doesn't support the resolution you're after.

    Sorry about that.
     
  13. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #14
    2560x1080 would require dual-link DVI. You need to try and find a dual-link DVI to HDMI adaptor ... if one exists. There's an assumption for most devices that the maximum is 1920x1080 which works on a single-link.

    No DVI on the monitor?
     
  14. ZacharyFurgeson thread starter macrumors newbie

    ZacharyFurgeson

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    Location:
    Port Orange, Florida
    #15
    Nope just HDMI sadly
     
  15. for this macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2014
    #16
    From what I've read...

    The poster in this thread was in the same situation as you and the info might be valuable.
    http://superuser.com/questions/1091...resolution-using-dvi-source-and-hdmi-endpoint

    If you need a high refresh rate, you may have to go Dual-link DVI -> DisplayPort -> HDMI route. Because it seems there is no manufacturer making an active Dual-link DVI to HDMI adapter.

    The hardest part is finding an active Dual-link DVI -> DisplayPort adapter. I've just found one and its spec sheet says it supports Apple 24”, 27”, 30” LED Cinema Displays. Well, that's funny, have there ever been a 30" LED Cinema Display?

    http://www.gefen.com/gefentv/gtvproduct.jsp?prod_id=9898

    I don't know if it supports other manufacturers' monitors or you can connect an (active) DisplayPort -> HDMI adapter to it. And if the signal passes through correctly, you will probably need SwitchResX to set it to 2560x1080. Just an idea if you're really serious.
     
  16. milaszewski macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    #17
    It is not possible to connect DVI Dual Link output to HDMI or (mini) Displayport input.
    The only product that was able to do such conversion was AT-DP400.
    There are some used on Amazon for around $250.

    Beware of other cheaper converters, as they work only in the opposite direction.
     
  17. for this, Jan 26, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2017

    for this macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2014
    #18
    From the diagram, AT-DP400 is probably not the only one. This one is still available, $130 new at https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/prod...l_Link_DVI_to_Mini_DisplayPort_Converter.html
    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page