PowerMac G5 upgrade to Leopard(?)

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by alex.marton, Jul 23, 2015.

  1. alex.marton macrumors 6502

    alex.marton

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Location:
    My House
    #1
    Hi All,

    Assuming, a lot of you have G5 PowerMacs, and iMacs. I am running 10.4.11 (Tiger) on it right now. I have a Leopard Install DVD, and I wanted to ask what you guys' experiences is with it. Is it worth it to upgrade?

    My PowerMac has a dual 2.5GHz CPU, and 4GB RAM, that I might replace with 8 gigs.

    Is it true that is slows it down?

    Thanks, Alex
     
  2. Dronecatcher macrumors 68000

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #2
    Leopard is more CPU intensive, requires more RAM and does need a higher spec graphics card than Tiger to deliver a responsive GUI - however, on a machine of your class, the speed difference will be imperceptible. There's no need to be afraid of Leopard ;)
     
  3. MacCubed macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #3
    Upgrade! It gives much more compatibility and is a nice looking OS than Tiger. I recommend partitioning the HDD for running both Tiger and Leopard in case you dont like the latter.
     
  4. alex.marton thread starter macrumors 6502

    alex.marton

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Location:
    My House
    #4
    Okay, thank you! I will install it later tonight then! :)
     
  5. Dronecatcher macrumors 68000

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #5
    Be sure to look up the optimisation guides on here, they do make a difference.
    Also, be aware that as soon as you install, spotlight will be indexing your hard drive in the background - this takes up lots of CPU, so Leopard wont be at full speed until it finishes (usually around 30 mins).
     
  6. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #6
    I agree with the others. Go for it!

    Leopard brings increased software compatibility and a more modern look/features. It's heavier than Tiger, but on a high-end G5 you shouldn't notice much difference.

    If you're used to Tiger smoothness, you might consider switching to the 2D Dock. The 3D one tends to lag a little bit, even on high-end GPUs.
     
  7. MacCubed macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #7
    You also could disable Spotlight completely, I wouldn't cause I use it all the time
     
  8. Gamer9430 macrumors 68020

    Gamer9430

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Location:
    Central New Jersey, USA
    #8
    Do it. Leopard on a decent PMG5 is so worth it. I'd recommend disabling Dashboard because it's pretty useless to most of us and disabling it saves up some resources. There are plenty of other optimizations you can make, which actually really helped my iBook G4.
     
  9. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #9
    The idea that Leopard slows things down is a misnomer. Yes, technically it's true. And yes, you should be able to install it and not experience any slowdown out of the box. However, like anything else, if you can optimize it, performance is much better.

    So, as has already been suggested, follow the optimization guides here. Leopard is a much more modern OS with better features.
     
  10. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #10
    I'm running Leopard on a 450mhz Cube and with the right optimizations I don't find it slow.

    I'm sitting on my Quad now(finally got it moved into and set up at work) and can't imagine using anything but Leopard on it. If I need to run something in OS 9(which I do occasionally) I'll grab a TiBook.
     
  11. alex.marton thread starter macrumors 6502

    alex.marton

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Location:
    My House
    #11
    I have a Tiger Install DVD as well, but I will partition it! :)
     
  12. alex.marton thread starter macrumors 6502

    alex.marton

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Location:
    My House
    #12
    Okay, thank you! I will definitely check out which dock works best! :)
     
  13. alex.marton thread starter macrumors 6502

    alex.marton

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Location:
    My House
    #13
    Lol, 3rd answer, but thanks for the idea, but I use spotlight literally all the time! :D
     
  14. MacCubed macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
  15. alex.marton thread starter macrumors 6502

    alex.marton

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Location:
    My House
    #15
    Thanks! I didn't know a 450MHz Cube could run it lol. Is it good? I can't find a Cube for a good price anywhere lol
     
  16. alex.marton thread starter macrumors 6502

    alex.marton

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Location:
    My House
    #16
    Thanks! :)
     
  17. alex.marton thread starter macrumors 6502

    alex.marton

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Location:
    My House
    #17
    All right! :) Can you please link a "guide" for the optimization? Just looked it up and can't find it!
     
  18. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
  19. alex.marton thread starter macrumors 6502

    alex.marton

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Location:
    My House
    #19
  20. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #20
    Any AGP based G4 can run Leopard without issue-you really just need to bypass the 867mhz installer check. There are a couple of ways to do this, including using Leopard Assist(which tricks the computer into thinking it has a faster processor than is actually installed), pulling the hard drive the putting it in a supported Mac, or booting the computer in Target Disk Mode, connecting to a supported Mac, and running the Leopard installer from that Mac. All methods have their benefits and downfalls-I usually pull the drive or use TDM.

    The limitation with Leopard in a Cube, Sawtooth, and Gigabit Ethernet is in the GPU. All of these have 2x AGP slots. Leopard really benefits from having a GPU that supports Core Image(much of the "eye candy" is handled by the GPU if CI is supported), but there is a very short list of cards that support CI and work in a 2x slot. Offhand, the only OEM one I know of is the Radeon 9800, as well as a flashed GEForce 6200(the PCI 5200 will also work in 10.4.8 and later, although obviously you need a PCI slot to use it). @Intell will probably be along to tell me of the ones I've forgotten.

    Leopard will perform decent with a higher end non-CI such as a GEForce 4MX, Radeon 8500, Radeon 9000, or GEForce 4Ti(the best card with full OS 9 compatibility, and generally a superb card).

    With that said, your options in a Cube are pretty limited due to space constraints. Most Cubes come with a Rage 128, which is dismal under Leopard(although someone mentioned the other day that putting the kexts from Tiger in makes a world of difference). Among Apple OEM cards, the GEForce 2MX, GEForce 3, and Radeon 7500 are effectively drop-in replacements although the 7500 can't use the stock Cube faceplate. Certain models of flashed 6200 will fit in a Cube(and support CI), although you will need to rig up some way of supporting the card. You can move the VRM board and squeeze a fair number of other cards-I've seen 4MXs, Radeon 8500s, and Radeon 9000s-although you may also need to "clip" corners on the card to get them to fit and will need to work out mounting.

    The GEForce 2MX is decent under Leopard, although its HOT. I inadvertently touched the heatsink on one a minute or so after I'd shut the computer down and it raised a blister on my finger. You want a base fan(you should have one anyway). Apple actually made a special Cube-edition 2MX with a big heatsink, although these are tough to find. The(very common) tower editions of this card stay cool(enough) in a tower, but do cook in a Cube. The 7500 also works okay and runs a bit cooler in my experience.
     
  21. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #21
    BeamSync will greatly improve overall UI drawing but it should only be done on setups that are strictly connected to LCDs.
     
  22. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #22
    Good point. Now that I've started using CRTs again on a limited bases, I've had some "wonky" screens. Fortunately, I was able to hook an LCD back up and fix things.

    If you're using something with a built-in, though(I think an eMac would be the only thing) it could potentially be a pain to fix.
     
  23. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #23
    Ask Matthew.
     
  24. MacCubed macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #24
    But what if you disable beam sync while hanging hard drives with magnets on a CRT Mac?
     
  25. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #25
    BOOM!!!
     

Share This Page