Powermac g5 Upgrade?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by sl33t, Nov 12, 2011.

  1. sl33t macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    #1
    I am planning on getting this Powermac g5: http://www.ebay.com/itm/APPLE-POWERMAC-G5-DUAL-2-0-GHz-3GB-500GB-DVDRW-A1047-M9032LL-A-/230682726840?pt=Apple_Desktops&hash=item35b5c311b8#ht_2730wt_1185
    This will be my first Mac. I want to upgrade the RAM to the full 8 gb. What type of RAM will I need? I would also purchase a bigger hard drive (I'm thinking this one: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822152185). Would this hard drive be compatible. I would use the one that the computer comes with to run my programs off of. Also, down the road I would like to upgrade to a 60-80gb SSD to run my programs off of. However I'm not sure if the Powermac g5 will support an SSD? It would be great if you guys could give some feedback on compatability (type of RAM?, if SSD's are compatible, and also what video cards I could upgrade to.) Thanks in advance!

    -sl33t
     
  2. tersono macrumors 68000

    tersono

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Don't spend too much money upgrading a G5. Old tech now - won't run anything later than Leopard and there's quite a lot of software that no longer runs on PPC
     
  3. sl33t thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    #3
    Thanks for the feedback but you didn't answer any of my questions.
     
  4. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #4
    You need DDR 400MHz RAM. That hard drive will also work, but there wouldn't be a whole lot of benefit to having a SSD, since the G5 used the SATA I interface, which some hard drives can even saturate.

    My suggestion- don't buy PPC. Even G5s are starting to be underpowered and are now completely unsupported by apple or anyone else, so it's generally a waste of money.
     
  5. Jethryn Freyman macrumors 68020

    Jethryn Freyman

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #5
    Unless you can't afford Intel, which secondhand will for for 3x the price...
     
  6. robvas macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    An SSD will help a G5. They will even help an old G4!
     
  7. SuperJudge macrumors 6502

    SuperJudge

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    The Triangle, NC
    #7
    Not true. Bandwidth saturation is only part of the story here. Seek times benefit hugely, which can give a sizable boost to OS and application performance.
     
  8. sl33t thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    #8
    exactly...i'm only 14 so I can't get a job yet so I don't really have any way of making money.... Therefore I don't have enough for an intel. Also, I was looking at more g5's on eBay and found this: http://www.ebay.com/itm/Apple-Power-Mac-G5-Dual-Core-2GB-2-3GHz-160GB-A1177-VIDEO-EDITING-Leopard-/170726960793?pt=Apple_Desktops&hash=item27c01eae99#ht_7303wt_1185
    I think I'm gonna go with this. I think it's a pretty good deal, only 300 for dual 2.3 ghz, 2 gigs RAM, and all the pre-loaded software (FCP, Adobe Creative Suite, and Office). Then I'm going to get a 1TB external HD and upgrade to 8gb RAM.
     
  9. wrinkster22 macrumors 68030

    wrinkster22

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Location:
    Toronto
    #9
    Enjoy
     
  10. Goftrey macrumors 68000

    Goftrey

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    #10
    I'd scour around a bit more, even over here in the UK I can see a few dual 1.8ghz, 320gb HDD, 4gb RAM for £140 ($220)...
     
  11. drorpheus macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    #11
    hey don't worry about the Intel-Trolls they lurk around all parts of the internet even deep within areas that have specifically nothing to do with Intel. I know your looking at a dual core g5 here's a link for what I believe is the dual 2.3 not dual core but alot less money only $99 w/$50 shipping, its not my auction though I have bought G5's from this place and can only say they're a great shop. here's the auction

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/Apple-Power...e_Desktops&hash=item3a6ca2b324#ht_1891wt_1053

    a couple of months ago they had like 5 2gz g5's for like 350 with 250 shipping pretty sweet deal for 5. Regardless its cheap, and when I had one banged up in shipping, they sent a replacement in like 3days, no problems what so ever.
     
  12. srf4real macrumors 68030

    srf4real

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Location:
    paradise beach FL
    #12
  13. mike457 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Location:
    Ontario
    #13
    Just as a warning, the RAM in a G5 has to go in in pairs. The G5 also tends to be picky about RAM. OWC is a great place to buy parts, and I would suggest them for the RAM. You can use the "My OWC" tab, enter which model you're using, and they list out the upgrades you can get. They also often have videos and notes on how to install things. Enjoy!
     
  14. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #14
    All of this software is illegal, even OS (10.5) is illegal too. See item description: no installation discs or licenses.
    $300 for this with only 2GB RAM is a bit much IMO. On my local market you can get 2.3 DC with 5-6 GB RAM for equivalent of about $200 - 250 (with original OS Install Discs).
     
  15. sl33t thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    #15
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Damn.....that's such a steal. However, I don't have the money right now but I'm gonna sell my iTouch and get some money to hopefully buy one.
     
  16. srf4real macrumors 68030

    srf4real

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Location:
    paradise beach FL
    #16
    I didn't think of it, but the sheep is kind of right here. I sold my G5 and a 20 inch ACD along with original mouse and keyboard.. got $450 for the package. But after cleaning up the hard drive before delivery, the mac started freezing up a lot. I must have been stupid and deleted something I should have left alone..

    long story short I ended up needing to do a fresh install to repair and I no longer had the original Leopard 10.5 discs.. had to buy them online.. cost me $240 for an unopened box set which included iLife '08. So if you do ever need to do a fresh install, a friend with Mac OS 10.5 would be a good asset......;)
     
  17. Tyroler macrumors member

    Tyroler

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Location:
    Hatfield, UK
    #17
    I myself thinking on sticking on G4 MDD.Getting me a G4 12" powerbook for the Way.
    But heres a cheap G5 2.5 Ghz 2004 i think. If with air-Cooling would failing Water Cooling not to think about

    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/120809646...IDX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1426.l2649#ht_500wt_938

    Sending about $90.- or so,but you need to find out about Import taxes

    parcel size 2'x2'x4' and 20 kilogram
    The late 2004 has about 36 ib,thats 16 kg plus package.So should be ok with 20 kg,which is about 44 Ib
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Power_Mac_G5
    http://www.dhl.de/de/paket/privatku...derseiten/vereinigte-staaten-von-amerika.html
     
  18. W123 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011
    #18
    The dual CPU 2.0's suck with their slow AGP graphics. The only G5's worth buying are the dual core models, much faster RAM and PCI-E graphics.
     
  19. brenden macrumors regular

    brenden

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    #19
    I just picked up a G5 with dual 2.0Ghz CPU's it has the AGP graphic and 1gig RAM. It's actually not that slow. Then again I'm really only using it for iChat, Mail, iTunes library and some internet browsing.
     
  20. Jethryn Freyman macrumors 68020

    Jethryn Freyman

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #20
    Yeah for those kinds of tasks G5s are plenty snappy. It's only the heavy lifting that they can't do so well, they'll get an ass kicking from a current iMac at video encoding, for example.
     
  21. srf4real macrumors 68030

    srf4real

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Location:
    paradise beach FL
    #21
    Yes, but if a guy is planning on doing any heavy gaming or video encoding, there is no reason to buy an old PowerMac for it. As for everything else, the things are still great work horses. Lots of G5s' still out in the field serving duty.
     
  22. brenden macrumors regular

    brenden

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    #22
    The G5 i just picked up only had 1gigs RAM. I found a post on craigslist where some guy was parting out his G5 and is willing to sell me his 4gigs of memory for 20 bucks. Will I notice a huge difference in performance? This is my first PPC and I just started learning anything about them. I know in an Intel Mac/PC you would see a fairly decent boost.
     
  23. srf4real macrumors 68030

    srf4real

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Location:
    paradise beach FL
    #23
    Huge. and buy 4 more gigs while you're at it to max out performance for less than $50. It makes a G5 a lot faster to have plentiful ram.
     
  24. brenden macrumors regular

    brenden

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    #24

    I read the 2.0Ghz has a max ram of 4gig. Am I mistaken?
     
  25. srf4real macrumors 68030

    srf4real

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Location:
    paradise beach FL
    #25
    My 2.0 G5 had eight slots for ram, 1GB max each. You can check it here.

    I also had two drive bays.. put a 1TB 7200rpm seagate barracuda in each one before finally selling it off the summer for a newer machine.
     

Share This Page