Powermacs can run two 22" monitors(spanned)?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by JoeJoe, May 26, 2007.

  1. JoeJoe macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    #1
    I'm looking on ebay and have tried to research via google but I can't get any definitive answers to the question. And since it's quite a sum of money I need to be certain.

    I need to know the "oldest" powermac G4 or G5(cheesegrater) I can buy that supports 2 monitors(spanning, not mirrored). I found a 2.7ghz powerPC, saw that it had two DVI connectors, but could not verify if you could "span" two 22" montors.

    Is it just a matter of getting the right video card?

    Thanks in advance for any assistance you can provide!
     
  2. TheMasin9 macrumors 6502a

    TheMasin9

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Location:
    Huber Heights, OH
    #2
    no problem

    that powermac will be able to handle those monitors no problem
     
  3. aquajet macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Location:
    VA
    #3
    It has everything to do with the video card, of which pretty much all are dual-headed cards (except for the oldest cards, like the Rage 128s in the original G4s). The dual 2.7 G5 included an ATI Radeon 9650XT as standard, which included a single-link DVI and a dual-link DVI port. So yes, it would support two 22" monitors spanned, but it would only be able to support one monitor which required a dual-link connection (the Apple 30" display, for example).
     
  4. RichP macrumors 68000

    RichP

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Location:
    Motor City
    #4
    Any "cheesgrater" style mac is a G5 machine. I am almost certain that all of them can run dual displays spanned; I dont think Apple shipped any of these machines with a video card with only one output.

    That being said, alot of the older G5 machines have an ADC output, and a DVI output. The ADC output will only work on older (plastic) Apple Displays. You will need an ADC-to-DVI adapter (20-30 bucks) to run 2 DVI monitors. Note, this connector is NOT the same as the DVI-to-ACD adapter, which cost much more.

    Enjoy your new machine!
     
  5. JoeJoe thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    #5
    Thanks for the information everyone....I knew you would clear things up.

    Now, if I can just get my wife to OK the purchase!

    Take care.
     

Share This Page