Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Stolen Demo

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 20, 2005
Well, I've been waiting for these updated PowerMacs since February this year and they've finally been released (even though they've been dubbed the worst Apple update in history). I'm new to the Macintosh platform and am hoping to switch and update from my current PC (666 Mhz Pentium 3). This computer has been running strong for around 5 years with little to no problems.

I'm interested in purchasing a computer that will hopefully last me a few years - I don't like having to upgrade every year. I'll be working with the Adobe suite, other than that just the internet and email and stuff. I don't want to play games (otherwise I'd buy a PC). I generally want to spend about $AU 2,800.
The setup I've been looking at is the:

Rev C -- Dual 2 Ghz PowerMac w/ an Educational discount -- $AU 2,814.90

How long would this setup get me?
About the gfx card, would the Radeon 9650 do me fine? Is there likely to be new cards released?

Also, would it be wiser to find and purchase a Rev C -- Dual 2 Ghz PowerMac..? With the money I could save, and with the Maximum 8 GB of RAM, I could purchase a DL drive much later, when I need it.

Also, where should I by my RAM?
And does anyone know of (Australian) Apple Centres that would be selling older Rev B models?

Thanks.

JRM PowerPod

macrumors 6502
Mar 7, 2005
Outback Australia
Stolen Demo said:
Well, I've been waiting for these updated PowerMacs since February this year and they've finally been released (even though they've been dubbed the worst Apple update in history). I'm new to the Macintosh platform and am hoping to switch and update from my current PC (666 Mhz Pentium 3). This computer has been running strong for around 5 years with little to no problems.