powernap feature on mbp

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by tbluhp, Jul 8, 2012.

  1. tbluhp macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    #1
    I have the macbook pro june 2012 model ID MacBookPro9,2 and using mac 10.8 dev preview 4 with facebook and I do not see any powernap feature?
     
  2. el3ktro macrumors regular

    el3ktro

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    #2
    I have a MacBook Air, but for Power Nap to work I first had to install a firmware update which showed up in Software Update. Maybe there's one available for your model, too?
     
  3. Senseotech macrumors 6502a

    Senseotech

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Location:
    Wilkesboro, NC
    #3
    Powernap is only going to work on machines that come standard with an SSD, aka newer model Macbook Airs, and the Retina MBP.
     
  4. tbluhp thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    #4
    Their is but upon trying to instal the software update I get a error saying that I must have 10.7 installed and I have 10.8 installed?
     
  5. Sylon macrumors 68020

    Sylon

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Location:
    Michigan/Ohio, USA
    #5
    Any chances of getting this feature if you install an SSD in your MBP? It's possible to upgrade your MBP's with an SSD drive, if you are willing to spend the money on one and go thru the process.
     
  6. negativzero macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    #6
    I'm pretty sure that even if Apple decides not to, someone will probably come out with a hack that will allow those with a third party SSD to use powernap.
     
  7. kissmo macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Location:
    Budapest, Hungary
    #7
    Couldn't agree more


    For sure! As they were able to make TRIM work with third party SSDs.
    I share the same view as you.
     

Share This Page