powernap for older hardware

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by UKBeast, Jul 12, 2012.

  1. UKBeast macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Location:
    Turkey
    #1
    is it possible to enable powernap for macbook pros with builtin ssd ? My 2010mbp has ssd and i want to benefit from powernap.

    Apart from that, does powernap do itunes airplay to Apple TV?
     
  2. NeoMayhem macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    #2
    Not yet, and it looks less likely now that we know it requires a firmware update. However, I would not be surprised if somebody figures out a way to enable it someday.
     
  3. hw007 macrumors member

    hw007

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Location:
    51.5799259, -0.2282228
    #3
    I'm sure someone will work it out.

    Just like how AirDrop in Lion can be enabled using the following code in terminal

    Code:
    defaults write com.apple.NetworkBrowser BrowseAllInterfaces 1
     
  4. UKBeast thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Location:
    Turkey
    #4
    if the only requirement is a flash based drive like ssd it would be unfair if apple only enables it for new generation macbooks.
     
  5. hiohokaybye macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    #5
    its like how when the first two unibody macbook pro came out. Apple only enabled inertia scrolling for the second one and they waited for a bit before they released it for the first unibody macbook pro, even tho they have the same exact trackpad!

    so i think they'll release something in a bit, if not, there's probably gunna be a workaround :rolleyes:
     
  6. UKBeast thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Location:
    Turkey
    #6
    what aspects of powernap is useful apart from updating which i think is not so necessary.

    A lid closed, fan stopped macbook on my desk playing music, streaming video to atv would be very useful. But to make it possible powernap should be able to run itunes ??
     
  7. aznguyen316 macrumors 68020

    aznguyen316

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #7
    I thought Airdrop is already in Lion? My GF's MBA 2011 is on Lion and I just used Airdrop to transfer a file from my 10.8 to her 10.7.4. CMD + Shift + R I think??
     
  8. stephen1108 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    #8
    This is common practice by Apple to get consumers to buy newer versions of their products (look at; Siri on iPhone 4, 3D Maps & Turn by turn navigation). Hopefully, this isn't the case as a laptop is far more expensive than an iPhone, but I wouldn't be surprised if they omit this feature from other SSD carrying MacBooks.
     
  9. hw007 macrumors member

    hw007

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Location:
    51.5799259, -0.2282228
    #9
    Sorry I didn't mention that AirDrop on some older machines can be enabled using that code.
     
  10. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #10
    A Mac in Power Nap cannot AirPlay media to an Apple TV.
     

Share This Page