PowerPC G5 not displaying and other problem.

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by FutureMarine, Nov 26, 2014.

  1. FutureMarine macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    #1
    I recently got this PowerPC G5 and I just tore it apart and blew it out. I put it back together, and it turns on, I don't hear the chime (speaker is plugged in), no beeping or error lights, and now the white led only lights up on the front when I press the power button, but the goes away. Nothing shows up on my screen, I took out the graphics card and plugged it back in. I can clearly hear it running and normal fan speeds and everything, I've took the RAM out and put it back, any help would be appreciate it.
     
  2. Zotaccian macrumors 6502a

    Zotaccian

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    #2
    Did you remove CPU at any point? If so, check that it is well-seated. Also, G5 Powermacs require you to install memory sticks in pairs and you cannot install them freely, only to spesific slots, if you install first one in the first slot (counting from up to down) then you must install the second the lowest one. My memory might not be correct, but someone here surely knows/remembers plus you can check it from Apple's website.... but I know there are limitations with ram installation in those machines.
     
  3. FutureMarine thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    #3
    I'll take out the CPU and make sure it's good. It's more likely the RAM thing. I'll have to find out about it.
     
  4. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #4
    Generally with a RAM issue, you would hear a beep pattern.
     
  5. FutureMarine thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    #5
    Fixed RAM and CPU, still nothing. No chime, no beeps, no lights. I thought maybe the HDD was not in, but I checked and still nothing.

    ----------

    It turns on, just nothing really happens. All fans are spinning.
     
  6. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #6
    Was it running before you began work on it?
     
  7. FutureMarine thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    #7
    Yes. I just don't know why it won't start up. It turns on completely, I have the front panels connected, I have no idea what I did wrong. I've looked it at so many times, it's driving me nuts.
     
  8. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #8
    I would try taking apart every piece you removed and putting it all back together. I know that sounds like a pain but it will let you double check everything.
     
  9. FutureMarine thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    #9
    sounds like my only option.
     
  10. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #10
    Let us know what you uncover.
     

Share This Page