PowerPC Mac Remote desktop to Intel Mac

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by sutty100, Feb 18, 2016.

  1. sutty100 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    #1
    I have an Intel Mac Pro 5.1 (OS X 10.11) sat upstairs and wanted to use my iMac G5 (OS X 10.5) downstairs to occasionally remote connect to the mac pro. However the connection simply fails, if I use the same connection steps (right click finder go connect to sever and enter vnc://foo/) on my macbook then it works fine. Is there no way to make this work with the OS X screen share app and if not is there anything else I can use that wont be useless?
     
  2. rawweb macrumors 6502a

    rawweb

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2015
    #3
    If you're going over wifi on either machine, yeah, going to be slippery and a bad experience.

    I use my quad g5 to screen share into my 2012 headless Mac Mini Server all the time natively with OS X. Works great, both are hard wired over cat 6 gigabit. Literally minimal lag, it's like I'm on the Mini.
     
  3. redhatcode29 macrumors 6502

    redhatcode29

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur
    #4
    Have you already tried the native screen sharing option or not ? Sounds like you havent.

    If havent, then in order to make it work, you need to enable the screen sharing options.
     
  4. tdbmoss macrumors regular

    tdbmoss

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    Apple Remote Desktop from the latest version for Leopard definitely works to remote to an El Capitan system.
     
  5. Hack5190 macrumors 6502a

    Hack5190

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Location:
    Stuck on Earth in the USA
    #6
    Erik,

    I downloaded Chicken to my PowerBook but it will not connect to my G5 (the built in ScreenSharing app works fine). Any reason to not just stick w/ScreenSharing?
     
  6. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #7
    I'm going to caveat the following by saying that I discovered CotVNC in 2005 or so and have just stuck with it. That said, it's never given me any trouble that I didn't create on my own whereas the stock screen sharing always has.

    In CotVNC use the IP address of the device you want to connect to (no hostnames). If you activate Bonjour it will even fill it in for you.

    Just leave the password field blank if you don't use one.

    Chicken of the VNC.png
     
  7. Hack5190 macrumors 6502a

    Hack5190

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Location:
    Stuck on Earth in the USA
    #8
    Thats what I tried but it doesn't work to control the G5. Haven't used VNC for a few years but Chicken is small enough that I'll leave it installed just in case. . .

    Thanks
     
  8. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #9
    On the G5, do you have the firewall up? If you do, try disabling it or adding VNC.
     
  9. Hack5190 macrumors 6502a

    Hack5190

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Location:
    Stuck on Earth in the USA
    #10
    The firewall is on - however I am able to connect to the G5 (from the PowerBook) using the native Leopard ScreenSharing app. I imagine that Chicken is using the same port so there is no need to change my firewall settings on the G5.

    Right now the G5 is off, I'll disable the firewall later and see if Chicken works.
     
  10. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #11
    An alternative method, which is the one I use here at work with our headless Applescript server, is to use OSXVNC (Vine Server) as the client on the G5.

    That's an extra step, but if you install and open the app the first time AND then tell it to install VNC as a service then here is the cool thing. VNC will load at startup. You can actually see the end of the boot process and the login screen.

    That's entirely different than the standard Mac OS screen sharing which requires you to be logged in to work.

    After that you never have to open the app again (i.e., it does not need to be put in startup items in your account). It just works - in all accounts.
     
  11. Hack5190 macrumors 6502a

    Hack5190

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Location:
    Stuck on Earth in the USA
    #12
    Call me crazy, but this seems like a lot of unnecessary work considering the :apple: built in tools (server & client) are working perfect.

    I was just curious what benefits the Chicken client had over the one Apple includes.
     
  12. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #13
    It may be. However, it was my soluton because the built in tools do NOT work for me.

    Especially so when I access my Mac's screen at home from a computer at work. If the stock method is working for you then great, but I've always had problems. This solution is a little bit of work, which got done a long, long time ago, but is very easy to use after that.

    Use what works for you.

    PS. One of the BIGGEST reasons I use CotVNC at work is because you can use special keys like CTRL ALT DEL, which is very useful when connecting to the PCs at work that are screen sharing.
     
  13. Hack5190 macrumors 6502a

    Hack5190

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Location:
    Stuck on Earth in the USA
    #14
    I prefer to stick with vendor supplied tools vs 3rd party, but in the end I always stick with what works (for me) my friend :D

    Thats where I use Microsofts RDP client for OS X. Rather than install VNC or some other 3rd party remote control software on a Windows system I use RDP. Of course RDP doesn't allow for screen sharing or remote assistance - but lucky for me I don't need it.
     
  14. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #15
    I used to use RDP, until the app for PowerPC just became too unworkable. But I was using it for screensharing.
     
  15. bobesch, Feb 22, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2016

    bobesch macrumors 6502a

    bobesch

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Location:
    Kiel, Germany
    #16
    Fully agree, the Win RDP-Client worked fine for me too. Up to that moment I purchased a licence for 5 clients for Server2008 which made the Server stop to communicate with the PPC RDP-Client.
    --- Post Merged, Feb 22, 2016 ---
    I remember a corrupt ScreenSharing function of my MacBookPro with 10.5 in 2010. Initially everything worked nice and ScreenSharing with another MBP2009/OXS10.5 worked without any problem. Then suddenly ScreenSharing stopped to work on either of the MacBooks without any reason and I couldn't figure out how to fix it.
    At home I use my iBookG4/OSX 10.5 without any problem to establish ScreenSharing with a MacMini2009/OSX10.10; MBP/OSX10.11 and MBP/OSX10.11.
    On the iBookG4/PPC10.5 I use the finder to connect: sidebar/network-ressources (where all shared devices are listed), then "ScreenSharing" or "Connect As..."
    Maybe your G5/PPC10.5 has a corrupt ScreenSharing feature as mine did have in 2010. Maybe you've tried to log into your Mac Pro with the wrong username/password.
    Your combination of iMacG5 plus MacPro is really clever since you may log into the MacPro in the background as an additional user - so two (or even more) people in your household may use the power of the MacPro all together via ScreenSharing with legacy PPC-Macs.
    You may try to empty all related user/pw information in the keychain-app. Or make a fresh installation of that G5 (maybe via firewire on a connected external drive).
    Good look!
     
  16. swamprock, Feb 22, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2016

    swamprock macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2015
    Location:
    Michigan
    #17
    Try this on your Mac Pro if you haven't already:

    1. Go into System Preferences, then Sharing.
    2. Select Screen Sharing, then click Computer Settings.
    3. Check the box "VNC viewers may control screen with password". Enter password that you want to use.
    4. Close Preferences and give it a try from your iMac.

    This is what I had to do to get my cheapo Android tablet to connect to my Intel iMac.
     
  17. Hack5190 macrumors 6502a

    Hack5190

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Location:
    Stuck on Earth in the USA
    #18
    Your correct that these settings would allow me to use Chicken. But why? Chicken provides no advantage / features over the built in screen sharing app that Apple provides. Unil Chicken or some other sharing app provides audio I'll be using the one Apple provided.
     
  18. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #19
    That's fine.

    Until the one Apple provides can connect over the internet and has a way to send "CTL+ALT+DEL" I'll be using CotVNC. ;) :D
     
  19. Hack5190 macrumors 6502a

    Hack5190

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Location:
    Stuck on Earth in the USA
    #20
    Erik your use of VNC differs from mine, making Chicken a better client for you. The combo of RDP and Apple's Screen Sharing meets my needs without any 3rd party add ons.

    The best tool is dependent on the job.
     
  20. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #21
    No worries man. I'm just yanking your chain! :D

    I agree. What's best for the type of use.
     
  21. swamprock, Feb 22, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2016

    swamprock macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2015
    Location:
    Michigan
    #22
    I was replying to the OP. My apologies for not quoting his post. This has been rectified.

    The steps that I described also worked for me when my Mountain Lion machine had trouble connecting to screen sharing on my Intel iMac running El Cap...
     
  22. bobesch macrumors 6502a

    bobesch

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Location:
    Kiel, Germany
    #23
    I'd try to delete all credentials concerning the MacPro-LogIn in that iMacG5's keychain-app.
    (keychain-app/category: passwords)
    Here you may find some other hints, how to solve the problem: http://apple.stackexchange.com/questions/52686/screen-sharing-fails-to-connect
    Some comments on that page blame the target-machine to cause the problems, but told that you can login to your MacPro with another Mac without problem, so the cause is most likely related to the iMacG5.

    The loss of the screensharing-function of my MBP/10.5 then in 2010 was really nagging me and as far as i remember I did a fresh installation of 10.5 to solve that problem. Certainly the least clever solution.
     

Share This Page