PowerPC...need to install simply to upgrade

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by markbell, Jan 28, 2015.

  1. markbell macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    #1
    hello all!

    i have v2.5 of propellerheads reason & have just bougjt the v8 update (works on yosemite) $120 vs $400 full non update version

    the problem is i cant get v2.5 to install (powerpc app) to then update..can i run in a virtual environment then update and the v8 will then run under yosemite or will it only run in the virtual it was originally installed on..i can not run this long term in virtual as its part of a complex studio set up (reason logic x UAD native instruments ultimate komplete 10 etc) so needs to integrate into the rest

    any help really appreciated
     
  2. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #2
    Try speaking to the software vendor. Rosetta support for PowerPC apps was removed with OS X 10.7 Lion, there's no way to retro fit it into Yosemite.
     
  3. markbell thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    #3
    Do you know if I installed the v2.5 in a virtual environment if the update from within Yosemite will be able to see v2.5 or is it completely isolated?

    Will contact vendor but I think they are notoriously unhelpful!

    Thanks bud
     
  4. NoBoMac macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    #4
  5. Partron22 macrumors 68000

    Partron22

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Location:
    Yes
    #5
    You've got v2.5 installed on something?
    I'd find all its files, copy them onto a floppy (or whatever), and try putting them in the right places on your intel/Yosemite machine.
    The updater might recognize that, even if the 2.5 version can't actually run under Yosemite.
     
  6. markbell thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    #6
    Thanks for all your help guys..apparently the update is actually the same physically as the full version so I can install directly onto Yosetime from that providing that it picks up my registration on their server from a previous version
     

Share This Page