powersupply voltage issue

Discussion in 'iMac' started by zoran, Dec 28, 2009.

  1. zoran macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #1
    Recently i purchased a mac mini from USA. The power supply sais 100-120v. Problem is that i want to use it in Europe where the voltage is 220. Most -if not all- Apple power supplies have voltage indications for both European and American usage (100-240v) why does mine have only 100-120v indication.
    Can someone tell me what his has?
    You think i might burn it if i connect it to 220v here?
     
  2. crut macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    #2
    Get a power block convertor.

    They are about half the size of a house brick and will transform 220V to 110V.

    I would not risk plugging directly into the wall without a convertor.
     
  3. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #3
    Appears to be a labeling error on Apple's part. See the review page for the power adapter on Apple's US store: http://store.apple.com/us/reviews/MA407LL/A

    Confirm that the part number matches that and you should be OK. You may also want to confirm with Apple via email. The adapter is advertised as 110-240V 50/60Hz on their site.
     
  4. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #4
    Thanx for all the help but, how can i confirm that the part number matches?
     
  5. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #5
    Part number should be printed on the supply. You are looking for MA407LL/A
     
  6. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #6
    on the power supply you mean? only thing i can read on the powersupply is the model number (A1188)
     
  7. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #7
  8. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #8
    i pluged it in the darn thing and it works perfectly
    i wonder if its a mistake or something else suspicious!
     

Share This Page