PPC G4 won't boot

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by afrodiziyak, Dec 16, 2013.

  1. afrodiziyak macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    #1
    PPC G4 won't boot when I start it.Screen is stuck on apple icon and spinning wheel-any one got a clue?
     
  2. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #2
    Reboot. Hold down CMD+V. This is the command to show a verbose boot. You'll see a bunch of white code on a black screen. What we want to get a sense of is what errors are being thrown up or where the boot hangs. So, let us know what the readout says (particularly the last few lines where the boot hangs).

    Using verbose mode can tell us this (more or less).
     
  3. afrodiziyak thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    #3
    Nothing happening with CMD+V command
    Icon and wheel not budging
     
  4. afrodiziyak thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    #4
    any body out there -help please so much data and work I need to access on the PPC
     
  5. Nameci macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #5
    Put your PPC G4 in Target Disk Mode and using FW access the hard drive from any other mac that has an FW port. Get all your work data and files that way you are safe to do whatever you want on your G4.
     
  6. afrodiziyak thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    #6
    Can't get beyond grey screen with apple icon and spinning wheel so how do I even get it into target mode?
    I have another mac-a mac air...
     
  7. Nameci macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #7
    Press "T" on the keyboard and hold it after you push the powerbutton to turn on your PPC G4. Release it once it presents a blue screen with a firewire image. This will make your PPC G4 to be recognized as a hard drive from your other mac thru FW.

    I think Macbook Air does not have any firewire interface.
     
  8. afrodiziyak thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
  9. afrodiziyak thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009

Share This Page