PRAM reset lead to no boot

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by GreenSleeve, Dec 22, 2011.

  1. GreenSleeve macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    #1
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    Hi guys, this is my laptop for work soni really need help (MacBook Pro leopard). I went to reset PRAM and when I released the appropriate keys the apple and spinning meter never changed. Now it won't boot normally or from the install disc or in safe mode. I even tried holding down X to leave the extensions off and I don't even think that does anything anymore. Any suggestions? If it were hard drive issue wouldn't it still boot off the cd?
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    First, why were you trying to reset NVRAM (PRAM applies to PowerPC Macs)? How exactly did you attempt to do that? Which keys did you use? Also, have you tried booting in single-user mode?
     
  3. JamesGorman macrumors 65816

    JamesGorman

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    #3
    What keys are you supposed to use? I always use the CMD OPT and P R keys, it always does the reset for me on my macbook pro
     
  4. GreenSleeve thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    #4
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    I used the same keys as you would for pram option-command-p-r ... How would I boot in single user?
     
  5. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #5
    Those are the right keys, but the OP didn't specify that they used those. Many people don't use the right keys, or they reset NVRAM when doing so doesn't address the issues they're having. There are times when it's appropriate to do so, and times when it isn't.
    Those are the correct keys, but what were you trying to accomplish by resetting NVRAM?

    Mac OS X: How to start up in single-user or verbose mode
     
  6. GreenSleeve thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    #6
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    I was about to partition with boot camp but it gave me a message that some files could not be moved so I thought it might help.
     
  7. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #7
  8. GreenSleeve thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    #8
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    Neither verbose nor single user ever moved past the black screen with the white letters. Is there another command I can give it in single user that would trouble shoot the system?
     
  9. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #9
    What happens when you try to boot from your install disk?
     
  10. GreenSleeve thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    #10
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    Nothing. All I get is gray screen with logo and spinning graphic.
     
  11. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #11
    If you can't startup under any condition, including from the install disk, it may be time to take it to Apple.
     
  12. GreenSleeve thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    #12
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    Working on the list of commands found here: http://support.apple.com/kb/ts1411
    So far nothing. I heard starting without the battery in can help. Have you ever heard that?
     
  13. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #13
    That's the wrong document. That's for Mac OS X 10.3.9 or earlier.
    Try this one: Mac OS X: Gray screen appears during startup
     
  14. GreenSleeve thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    #14
    That page doesn't show any commands to give the CPU while in single user mode. I can't see well since I am looking on my phone at this, but there has to be a command line to go to user prefs and revert to old. Can you find it for leopard? I would be in your debt.
     
  15. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #15
    If you can't boot into single user mode, you can't enter any commands.
     
  16. GreenSleeve thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    #16
    Perhaps you are taking to literally. I was able to type all the commands on from the link I posted before that you said was incorrect, and stuff was happening, but after I entered the reboot command I was back at gray screen again. If the black screen with white text is consider being "up", then yes, I was able to boot in Single User and Verbose.
     
  17. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #17
    At this point, my recommendation is that you take it to Apple and let them help you.
     
  18. GreenSleeve thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    #18
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    At this point I realize that all you are going to do is post links to things I could have found on Google. Going to apple is not an option for me. My protection is up and the closest mac store a 2 hour drive and last time i was in there the genuis bar was full of idiots and they always want to send it in, the internet is more helpful than they. Well, last time anyways. Thanks MacRumors
     
  19. GreenSleeve thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    #19
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    If someone knows about open source coding in verbose mode or an actual expert logs on please feel free to comment.
     
  20. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #20
    Apparently, you didn't know the information contained in those links, or you wouldn't have asked the questions you did. Since you choose to criticize those who have taken time to try to help you, you're on your own. :rolleyes:
     
  21. sweetbrat macrumors 65816

    sweetbrat

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    Redford, MI
    #21
    You refuse to go to Apple and instead came to a forum for help. GG was being perfectly polite and trying to help, and you threw a temper tantrum. Do you really think that's going to make other people want to help you out? :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page