PRAM reset sends mac into Recovery mode

Discussion in 'iMac' started by ZMacintosh, Oct 12, 2016.

  1. ZMacintosh macrumors 65816

    ZMacintosh

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    #1
    iMac 5K 2015/16 model on 10.12 Sierra, had to do a PRAM reset. I turn on the Mac, hear the chime, hold command option PR, it will restart then I will hear a faint start up chime and it will boot into Recovery Partition.

    any ideas on how to fix this? this was a clean upgrade to Sierra (El Capitan was a clean install then upgraded to Sierra).
     
  2. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #2
    I'm too lazy to boot into Recovery and find the actual option, but one of the menus will let you access the Startup Disk preferences. Choose your regular partition and reboot and that should fix it.

    If you can't find it then another option is to reboot and hold Option at the chime, select your normal partition there, boot up, and then go to System Preferences/Startup Disk and choose the partition.
     
  3. ZMacintosh thread starter macrumors 65816

    ZMacintosh

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    #3
    Start up disk has always and is the Macintosh HD / macOS HD........a normal restart always goes to the main Macintosh HD.

    But if i hold down PRAM it always goes to recovery.
     
  4. Floris macrumors 68020

    Floris

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #4
    Just for reference, https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT204063 and those interested in more infor about PRAM and NVRAM resets, the steps, etc.

    I know cmd+r pushes your startup to recovery mode, I guess the 'r' from cmd +p +r recognizes the r and ends up there.
    I haven't read any info about this going to normal mode or recovery mode when you reset pram. If someone has apple.com documentation on this for me, I am greatly interested.
     
  5. ZMacintosh thread starter macrumors 65816

    ZMacintosh

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    #5
    no issues on the MacBooks i've tried it on. but there was some issues with the internal sound after using a pair of bluetooth headphones where the audio was low and the PRAM would reset it.

    a normal restart or shutdown/power up goes right to macintosh hd/boot disk. kind of odd.
     
  6. ApfelKuchen macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    Location:
    Between the coasts
    #6
    It might be keyboard-related. Try resetting SMC before another try at PRAM, perhaps try another keyboard.
     
  7. ZMacintosh thread starter macrumors 65816

    ZMacintosh

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    #7
    tried SMC and new keyboard, I'm wondering if its the version of Sierra, it is the first available public release and noticed they changed the version in the App Store compared to the one I had installed.
     

Share This Page