Pre-install LCIII

Discussion in 'Apple Collectors' started by Psychou, May 11, 2014.

1. Psychou macrumors newbie

Hello world!
    Apple is whole new world to me!
    I am a Windows system administrator (yes i know that sounds like a joke for most of you :D ) and now i am proud owner of lc III.
    That's mine second time in my life touching MAC. The problem is that the OS language is Greek :D .
    The pizza box has only a floppy. So could someone help me in the pre-installing adventure?

The first questions are:
    1. Is it set to boot from the floppy?
    1.1. If no- how to enter BIOS :D?
    2. Is the OS bigger than one diskette?
    3. Is the diskette needs to be bootable?
    4. From where can i download the OS?
    5. Which OS should i use?

P.S. 1. Can I change the HDD with a bigger one and, if yes, is it going to recognize HDD bigger than 160 MB?

I apologize for my bad and rusty English!

Best Regards!

2. Nermal Moderator

Nermal

Staff Member

The system should try to boot from the disk drive automatically, so no worries there. There is no BIOS on these machines.

Do you have a PC with a floppy drive? It's relatively easy to make a bootable set of install disks with WinImage and I can provide instructions and a download link if you have a drive.

3. Psychou thread starter macrumors newbie

Yep. I am surrounded by all kinds of computer technics. :)

Thanks in advance!

4. Nermal Moderator

Nermal

Staff Member

Oops, I was going to give you System 7.0.1 but it won't actually run on an LC III. Umm... I'd better let someone else field this one because things can get a bit messy with "enablers" etc if you get the wrong version.

5. Psychou, May 11, 2014
    Last edited: May 11, 2014

Psychou thread starter macrumors newbie

Ok. :cool: I am sorry for the wrong section.

OFFTOPIC: Can someone provide me a good apple book or something like "apple for dummies"

Thank you, Nermal!

EDIT: I found a book :) I am sorry for the spam..

Any help is needed :) !