Pre Paid iPhone

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Carlos E, Jun 30, 2007.

  1. Carlos E macrumors 6502

    Carlos E

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
    #1
    Just wondering how many other people signed up their iPhones prepaid? I did. The only down side is I had an existing AT&T pick your plan account and they will not port your old number if you go with prepaid. So I have to cancel my old line and go with a new number.

    I wondering others who went prepaid were you told the same?
     
  2. worldwearyeyes macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
  3. jimbot macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    #3
    i did it as an experiment to see how many minutes i'll actually use in a month, texting is a ripoff so i resorted to sending text messages to other phones through email.
     
  4. charmdustio macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Pune / NY
    #4
    So you guys activated the phone on iTunes on prepaid. How? The activation video on Apple.com doesn't seem to have an option.

    Anyone know if roaming works on prepaid?
     
  5. iPhonePhan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    Apple FanBoy Land
    #5
    I had a question about this last night. How do you sign up for a Pre-Paid plan? I already have 2 phones (Treo<att> & Blackberry<T-Mobile>) I just want the damn iPhone.

    I was thinking that if I went pre-paid, then I would just pay now for some credit, never use the voice, use only the data and pay $20/month which is no big deal, and then use my iPhone on my Corp. at&t account when they allow for such (i.e. just put my SIM from my Treo to my iPhone and then upgrade the data)

    So, how can I get a Pre-Paid plan? Buy the iPhone, bring it home, and then??

    Please lemme know :) Thanks a bunch ! :) :apple: :D
     
  6. mactoday macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Location:
    Moscow, Russia
    #6
    How much did you pay in total for the prepaid with device in total? BTW: How did you activate your iPhone with prepaid?
     
  7. one1 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Location:
    Chattanooga, TN
    #7
    you have to fudge the activation to get it to go to another screen offering pre paid. This was posted last night in this forum.
     
  8. jimbot macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    #8
    you have to fail the credit check to get the options. i really hate to commit to 2 years and am deciding on whether paying extra so i don't have a contract is good for me.

    could you imagine if we could use wifi skype? 200 minutes would last me forever!

    it starts at

    49.95 for 200 minutes with unlimited data, each text counts as a minute

    59.95 bumps it up to 350 minutes with unlimited data
     
  9. mactoday macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Location:
    Moscow, Russia
    #9
    I see, so the same thing, but do you know if apple store staff would help activate your iPhone in store? I also heard that roaming is not possible on the pre-paid, anyone know this for sure? How to deal with pre-paid if I travel a lot?
     
  10. charmdustio macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Pune / NY
    #10
    Ok I'm assuming 50 bucks includes the unlimited data for $20? After it gets to the prepaid option - does it take your card details and charge the $50 there or a bill's sent to an address?

    If it works like that and has roaming, its not a bad way to use this abroad till someone figures out how to unlock the phone.
     
  11. jstennis1591 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #11
    Did whoever signed up for prepaid, actually have terrible credit? Or did you just fudge the information adn do it like that? I'd looooooove to do prepaid and cancel the 2 year contract that I just signed........still have 13 days :D
     
  12. mactoday macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Location:
    Moscow, Russia
    #12
    I was thinking how to manage to use iPhone in Moscow, Russia and looks like if pre-paid will allow a roaming then I'll setup call forwarding to my skype landline number in U.S. and forward skype to my another local phone sim card in Moscow. :) I wish iPhone had a skype client =)
     
  13. charmdustio macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Pune / NY
    #13
    Vonage works pretty well for most part of it.
     
  14. iPhonePhan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    Apple FanBoy Land
    #14
    Pre-Paid / GoPhone / Inputting 0's for the SSN # upn Activation

    That's my question exactly! I don't know if the person that posted that had bad credit to start with and then fudged the numbers for the heck of it and had it work. I'd hate to plop down $500 on the phone and have Pre-Paid service not an option.

    Can anyone confirm this? Has anyone tried to simply GoPhone it by fudging the SSN# with 0's ?
     
  15. Carlos E thread starter macrumors 6502

    Carlos E

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
    #15
    If you fail the credit check iTunes presents you with 2 options. Going into the AT&T store and leaving a deposit for a post paid account and the other option is go phone pick your plan. You prepay, basically, monthly it debits from a credit/debit card or from a checking account. I prefer this over having a 2 year contract. I get less minutes for the money but I DO NOT use the extra minutes anyway. I don't have a 2 year contract and I can cancel at anytime without paying a penalty.

    Here are the plan rates. For the iPhone you have to have the $20 unlimited email and data so it's an additional $20 on top of the rates below. iTunes explains all of this during activation.

    [​IMG]

    http://www.wireless.att.com/cell-ph...-phone-plans.jsp?WT.svl=title&_requestid=4948

    I had a razr with AT&T's pick your plan and I could roam. I use so very little minutes I wanted the iPhone as pick your plan. It comes out cheaper for me and the unused minutes roll over.

    After you pick your rate plan iTunes sends you to an AT&T page to enter your credit/debit card or checking account info. Once that is entered iTunes finishes activation. Monthly it automatically debits the amount of your plan from your card.

    If you enter incorrect info you will fail the credit check. Then you're presented with either putting a deposit down or doing debit prepay.
     
  16. iPhonePhan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    Apple FanBoy Land
    #16
    Awesome. I can choose the prepaid option via iTunes, and still get the phone activated?

    Also, the debit prepay option means you pay like $50 now (voice/data) but then you get debited $50 monthly anyway? :( What's pre-paid about it?

    I thought prepaid meant $50 now and only $20 monthly because I constantly need the data. Is that part true?

    If you cancel the plan, then you get no penalty, which is cool. I need that option when I port my iPhone to my Corp. account. :)

    Thanks for answering my questions Carlos! ;)
     
  17. Carlos E thread starter macrumors 6502

    Carlos E

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
    #17
    Pick your plan is similar to a post paid account in that no matter what, you are billed the same amount every month. The difference is it's debiting from a credit card or checking account before use. As you use your minutes it subtracts from the balance. If you run over, it blocks you from making calls until you add more money to your balance. If you pay $50 a month and have $20 left at the end of the month your balance rolls over to the next month. You would have $70.
     
  18. mactoday macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Location:
    Moscow, Russia
    #18
    Sounds good to me :) Last question, maybe you already know if you cancel pre-paid then AT&T will provide unlock code for iPhone? ;-)
     
  19. Carlos E thread starter macrumors 6502

    Carlos E

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
    #19
    I have no clue. I will ask.
     
  20. Yoursh macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    MN
    #20
    I've got one question about the prepaid option. Can you port a number over to a prepaid account? I currently have an old AT&T Wireless<Cingular<AT&T account/number, but I'm out of contract and am paying month to month. I would be interested into going prepaid, but I would want to keep my current number. Is this possible?
     
  21. iPhonePhan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    Apple FanBoy Land
    #21
    But you could cancel at anytime, without penalty also, which is awesome.

    So basically, I could plop the money down for the iPhone now, pay a couple of months (until Aug. probably) and just cancel the plan when at&t accepts corp accounts. Then have my Org. pay the bill when CRU work.

    Hmm, this is getting to be very interesting :) Thanks Carlos!
     
  22. Carlos E thread starter macrumors 6502

    Carlos E

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
    #22
    They did not let me keep my AT&T number. :(
     
  23. kgarchar macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    #23
    ok guys


    DO NOT

    DO NOT


    DO NOT

    go the prepaid route if you're easily annoyed...

    you'll be getting "the last transaction cost 0.00 USD. Your account balance is xx.xx USD every 5 or 10 minutes

    it's unbearable...I'm figuring out what the hell i need to do to get a regular plan because this is just absurd
     
  24. iPhonePhan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    Apple FanBoy Land
    #24
    So I think I'm almost ready to take the plunge... :D

    I'm gonna buy it at the 5th Ave store and then try to port it to the PrePaid plan and cancel the plan at a later date when my Corp. account allows me to aggregate it.

    Worst case scenario, it doesn't work out I'll just return it and pay the stupid $50 restocking fee (but at least I'll have tried and have gotten it out of my system :p )

    I'll let you know how it goes. Thanks to Carlos for all the wonderful info - you've given me a ray of hope amidst the sea of doubt and confusion! ;)
     
  25. AaronICT macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    #25
    Is it a text message you keep getting?

    Or and email?

    Have you called AT&T to see if this notice can be disabled?

    //Aaron

     

Share This Page