PreBrowser- PalmPre Browser for iPhone/iPod (Full Screen Navigating) Pics+Video Here!

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Vandam500, Dec 30, 2009.

  1. Vandam500 macrumors 68000

    Vandam500

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    #1
    This web browser just came out in Cydia and I am loving it! At first I was skeptical but hey, it's just 2 bucks. It is beautifuly made and is so polished! I love the UI and how it handles everything!!!!

    This is a must have!
    See it in Action!!!

    Enjoy!! :)
     

    Attached Files:

  2. BergerFan macrumors 68020

    BergerFan

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Location:
    Mos Eisley
    #2
    It's not bad, but it failed my Engadget Scrolling Test™, with some pretty major checkerboard, when scrolling the page, when it was fully loaded on my 3GS.
    Safari has no such trouble.
    All I'm hoping for, is a mod to Safari, that'll give it a full-screen toggle. :/
     
  3. Knowlege Bomb macrumors 601

    Knowlege Bomb

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #3
    I think the main issue here is that people are just looking for something different. iPhone's browser has been practically the same for the past 2.5 years.

    I can't say whether or not this is better than Safari but the change in appearance sure is welcome, not to mention tempting.
     
  4. eaglesteve macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    #4
    I've been using Oceanus, which is the best full screen browser I have found so far (and I have tried many others). However it has limitations. For example, cut and copy does not work with this browser. Also, the scrolling is not as responsive as Safari. I also don't like the fact that the BACK button causes a reload of a webpage. I do like the ease of locking the screen to either landscape of portrait mode.

    I wonder how does this browser compare to Oceanus.
     
  5. mokeiko macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    #5
    I really want this new browser but don't want to lose my Safari Downloader capabilities.

    Nice video!

    mokeiko

    edit: didn't know there was a "open link in Safari" feature!

    Also, can't seem to add bookmarks.
     
  6. tctony macrumors 6502a

    tctony

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    #6
    Tried it out. One thing I don't like is that it doesn't save tabs when you close out. Also, the address bar at the top is still there.

    I think I'm gonna stick with Safari for now.
     
  7. chstr macrumors 6502a

    chstr

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
  8. Vandam500 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Vandam500

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    #8
    Thanks!. Why can't you add bookmarks? Hit Menu then Add to Bookmarks. It should add the current webpage.

    Yes!
     
  9. tadad1 macrumors 6502a

    tadad1

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    #9
    I quite like it except there is no option to open links in a new tab which is a feature I use all the time, will stick with Safari for now.
     
  10. m3coolpix macrumors 6502a

    m3coolpix

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    #10
    Just purchased, and also having this problem.

    Clicking 'Add to bookmarks' brings me to a page that confirms the page title and URL, but clicking on 'DONE' does nothing (other than a confirmation flash of the button). It always shows the DONE button on the keyboard and doesn't add the bookmark. I can exit out via the 'MENU' button.

    Also, clicking on 'Show Bookmarks'....it only brings me to a blank screen which has some lines and an 'Edit' button. Clicking on 'Edit' changes the button to 'Done', but it doesn't do anything. Trying to open one of the lines to add the info doesn't work. I can only exit this screen via exiting PreBrowser by pushing the Home button.

    Lastly, my area to swipe for using SBSettings doesn't work anymore, as well as the activation method for initializing ProSwitcher (which is set up to use the HOLD option on the Status Bar).

    Also don't see a way to close tabs, just the button at the bottom to switch between them.

    It looks like there is some integration with the built in Safari app, as PreBrowser seems to know my logins on web forums....

    It would be awesome if I could get the bookmarks to work, or if it could automagically pull up my existing Safari bookmarks (as I use MobileMe to sync bookmarks across my MacBookPro/iPhone).

    And, maybe it's placebo effect, not sure, but PreBrowser does seem faster at loading a few of the websites I chose (MR Forums, for example).
     
  11. darngooddesign macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #11
    Wouldn't backgrounding it solve that issue?
     
  12. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #12
    my only complant

    is it doesn't save passwords hopefully in the next update. and great video as always. also like your new intros!
     
  13. Vandam500 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Vandam500

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    #13
    You have to swipe up on the tabs to close them! :)
     
  14. Vandam500 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Vandam500

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    #14
    Thanks bro!! :) Hopefully it would save passwords on next update!!!
     
  15. m3coolpix macrumors 6502a

    m3coolpix

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    #15
    I just had a Cydia update on it. v1.0-1

    Didn't fix any of the issues with the bookmarks for me.

    Are others having no problems with bookmarks? I've resprung, and even rebooted.

    Thanks for the how-to on the closing of tabs.

    Is there any 'user guide' on a website forum or something somewhere? Google is only bringing up announcements about the app itself.
     
  16. Vandam500 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Vandam500

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    #16
    I have tried to duplicate the bug for the bookmarks but nothing. I can add bookmarks without any problems and open them. SBSettings doesn't work while in the app but qTweeter does which is weird.
     
  17. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
  18. m3coolpix macrumors 6502a

    m3coolpix

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    #18
    Waahhh;)...but it is broke for me :(

    Don't really want to go through a restore and uninstall and install this/try that episode to see what may be causing my issue...

    Maybe listing what I have installed vs. what others have installed and a comparison.

    Here's info on my JB'n setup:

    week 46 32gb 3Gs running 3.1.2 (iTunes 9.0.2 (25)).

    Latest of:

    Blackra1n
    Cydia
    SBSettings
    Notifier
    iBlacklist
    Fontswap
    Fontswap Starter
    Backgrounder
    ProSwitcher
    Winterboard
    Aquoah (WB theme)
    Aquoah Lockinfo III (lockinfo theme)
    Aquoah SBSettings (sbsettings theme)
    Aquoah Dialer (theme for dialpad)
    Talking Alerts (WB theme)
    Lockinfo
    Firewall IP
    mobileterminal
    MobileSubstrate
    Openssh

    No 'hacked' software. All paid for, both on App store and Cydia. All the non used WinterBoard subdirectories removed (this seems to save memory for me).

    I also wonder if it's a permissions issue....
     
  19. mokeiko macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    #19
    Hey everyone,

    I figured out the bookmark issue I was having. When creating a bookmark you are given the name and the URL of the bookmark. Change the name or modify the name of the default bookmark initially shown. This seem to do the trick. Perhaps for some the bookmark works outright but not for me. I hope this helps.

    by the way, the browser does run a little faster than Safari. Hopefully more features will be added.

    mokeiko

    EDIT: The update fixed the bookmarks issues for me but I change the names anyway to shorten the length from what the default gives you.
     
  20. foob macrumors 6502

    foob

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    #20
    Nice browser. Everything works for me. For what it's worth, the bookmarks are stored in /var/mobile/Documents/Bookmarks.plist in this format:
    Code:
    <key>Title</key>
    <string>Google</string>
    <key>URL</key>
    <string>http://www.google.com/</string>
    I don't expect people to manually use that to save bookmarks but you might want to check permissions of that file or something.

    Personally, I'm going to use it to write a script to convert my Firefox bookmarks to that format and "sync" them.
     
  21. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #21
    lol
    for you it's perfect then:)

     
  22. m3coolpix macrumors 6502a

    m3coolpix

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    #22
    Can you post this file?

    It doesn't seem to exist on my device....at least not in that subdirectory. I just show a History.plist file and a AdMob subdirectory there...

    The History.plist file does contain the history of where I browsed with ZapBrowser.

    FWIW, I tried uninstalling ZapBrowser via Cydia, rebooting, then reinstalling, followed by another reboot. Even tried the option of SBSettings for 'fix user dir permissions'. Nada. Still the same problem with bookmarks. Can't add one even on a page that I'm visiting, or manually edit.

    Maybe I can manually put the file there and check it's permission if someone can post the file.....
     
  23. foob macrumors 6502

    foob

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    #23
    Hmm, maybe it creates it when you save a bookmark and since you're having trouble, it hasn't created it yet. Mine has these permissions, but I have already edited it so they could have changed somewhere along the line. It does work though.

    -rw-r--r-- (a.k.a. 644)
    user/group=mobile/mobile

    You may also want to check the Documents directory which is drwxr-xr-x (a.k.a. 755) mobile/mobile

    Here is a sample bookmark file that should work. I would post mine, but it's full of bookmarks by now.
    Code:
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
    <!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
    <plist version="1.0">
    <dict>
    	<key>1</key>
    	<dict>
    		<key>Title</key>
    		<string>Google</string>
    		<key>URL</key>
    		<string>http://www.google.com</string>
    	</dict>
    	<key>2</key>
    	<dict>
    		<key>Title</key>
    		<string>MacRumors</string>
    		<key>URL</key>
    		<string>http://www.macrumors.com.com</string>
    	</dict>
    </dict>
    </plist>
    In case anyone does edit them manually, I forgot that you need to add the key tags for every bookmark. The first is 1, second is 2 etc.
     
  24. m3coolpix macrumors 6502a

    m3coolpix

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    #24
    Thanks for posting. I was able to create my own based off of it, and ZapBrowser (as it's now called) is able to read it and go to the pages. But, I still have the editing problem. Can't edit the bookmarks, or add to it.

    The file permissions and user defs are as what you have, and as well for the Documents subdirectory.

    I can at least work with this a bit better doing bookmarks manually.
     
  25. UngratefulNinja macrumors 68000

    UngratefulNinja

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #25
    Nice video, as always. Just downloaded the browser, seems nice so far :)
     

Share This Page