Premiere CS3 only showing Quicktime as an export option

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by Pat H, May 5, 2008.

  1. Pat H macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    #1
    I just finished my first project in Premiere and now have to export it as an AVI, however Premiere is only allowing me to export as a quicktime, MPEG 2 or Flash. Yeah, I could just convert it using another app, but I'd rather export natively. According to the Premiere CS3 manual there should be A LOT more export options than there are, but only these 3 are listed in both the Export movie and Adobe encoder windows. How can I correct this? I really hope they didn't strip this from the Mac version like they stripped most of the video transitions :rolleyes:

    And I tried installing the Perian codec pack and that did nothing. :mad:
     
  2. radebe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Location:
    Norwich, UK
    #2
    I've got the exact same problem. Not sure why the Premiere developers are so incompetent when it's fine in After Effects! Please someone tell me there's a solution to this.
     
  3. Pat H thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    #3
    From what I've read on other forums it's just not there as it turns out, no way to make it appear. The solution I've been given is "buy quicktime pro" and convert. Don't get me wrong, I love the Adobe Suite and would take it again over FCS any day, but Adobe really skimped on Premiere CS3 Mac when compared to the PC version. Yet we still pay the same price. :rolleyes: Definitely the weak-link app in the suite.

    But as far as a solution goes, I'm just going to deal with quicktime for now and if I ever need an AVI I'll just output uncompressed QT and convert (although that takes an insane amount of HD space). It just sucks since AVI is for the most part the industry standard video format.
     
  4. rhett7660 macrumors G4

    rhett7660

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Sunny, Southern California
    #4
    Pat... Are you using the windows version or the Mac version? According to the help file AVI files are only exported for windows only

     
  5. rhett7660 macrumors G4

    rhett7660

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Sunny, Southern California
    #5
    Also..

    From I have been reading since I read your post, someone will maybe chim in... AVI and quicktime files are basically the same thing. Since the Mac does quicktime that is what it exports it to and since windows does avi.. well that is what it exports to.

    I found this info here:

    http://adobeforums.com/webx/.59b53297
     
  6. Pat H thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    #6
    I am using the Mac version. And I know that AVI is for Windows, but most apps (including Final Cut) allow export to AVI anyway, just as most Windows apps allow export to QT. I just think it's stupid that Premiere doesn't have it. It's not necessarily about necessity but more about convenience. If someone wants an AVI file I should be able to export one for them without having to convert it (thus taking twice the time and risking degradation if it's not done with the right codecs or huge, uncompressed files).

    And I've read that thread before, it's mine :D
     
  7. rhett7660 macrumors G4

    rhett7660

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Sunny, Southern California
    #7
    Pat H..

    LOL.. that is too funny, didn't put two and two together re: Pat Hall and Pat H. Well there you go, and I agree. Very frustrating. This is one of the things I posted in the "What I hate about Macs Thread". AVI files are pretty much used everywhere, and a Mac is supposed to be a multi media machine, yet they have trouble with some of the basics. Very frustrating indeed.
     
  8. gauchogolfer macrumors 603

    gauchogolfer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Location:
    American Riviera
    #8
    And you're bashing Apple and not Adobe for including an export option because.....?
     
  9. ppc_michael Guest

    ppc_michael

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #9
    Really? I don't believe I've ever come across an AVI in the professional world. Quicktime, on the other hand, all the time.
     
  10. rhett7660 macrumors G4

    rhett7660

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Sunny, Southern California
    #10
    That is strange, I come across them all the time. Wasn't really bashing apple per se, mainly voicing an opinion on the subject becuase they, meaning apple, have a hard time with .avi files. Just do a search on these forums. I understand it is a container file, not arguing that. I get that. However coming from a windows background .avi is used a lot more, where I work and have to deal with alot more then .mov (at least in my experience), when you hear and read about a Mac machine being a multimedia machine one would think it would handle one of the codecs that is used a lot.

    If you re-read my post I was commenting on the Mac as a multimedia machine.

    And if you read the post before that one... I make the comment that adobe should have the .avi export function.

    So I guess you can say I am a little frustrated (hence the reason for the topic) with the fact I have to do an extra step from adobe and I also have to deal with files that I have been using on the windows side that do not work out as well on the Mac side.
     

Share This Page