Preparing Back Up ..........Time Capsule

Discussion in 'macOS Sierra (10.12)' started by RnR, Sep 20, 2016.

  1. RnR macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    #1
    So having updated to macOS Sierra, I get 'Preparing Back Up' continuously when trying to back up to Time Capsule. Any advise? Thanks

    MBP, early 2011
    --- Post Merged, Sep 20, 2016 ---
    Have tried this but without success

    "It is because your Mac still thinks it is backing up to a disk on an old router. Simply fire up System Preferences from :apple: --> System Preferences --> Time Machine --> Select Disk. Select your disk and the backups will begin again."
     
  2. zorinlynx macrumors 601

    zorinlynx

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #2
    This can take a long time. It took about 35 minutes for me before the backup started.

    Since you upgraded the OS, it has to re-compare everything on your computer with what's on the Time Capsule before it can know what needs to be backed up.
     
  3. RnR thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    #3

    Unfortunately, 8 hrs later and still 'Preparing Back Up'
     
  4. PowerBook-G5 macrumors 65816

    PowerBook-G5

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013
    Location:
    The United States of America
    #4
    It took 3 hours for my backup to prepare, then another 7 hours to copy ~22GB.

    At one point, I was about to stop it when it was "preparing backup," but right then it began to backup ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
     
  5. CTHarrryH macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    #5
    Glad it is not just me. Will let it sit and see what happens
     
  6. chatbr macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    #6
    I think 8 hours waiting is a bit too long to start backing up...
    But I guess it could depend on how much data you have as well.

    I just wanna share that I tried backing up last night before going to bed and it took 1h preparing, but my back up size was probably around the 10gb mark.
     
  7. ahostmadsen macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #7
    My Macbook spent about 5 hours in preparing. Now the backup is done.
     
  8. zorinlynx macrumors 601

    zorinlynx

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #8
    Yeah it might take a really long time especially if you don't have an SSD and the machine is busy doing other things.
     
  9. RnR thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    #9
    Update: With some help from a friendly Apple advisor via phonecall......

    Disabled Sophos, Removed Disk in Time Machine, full restart, Selected disk in Time machine, back up commenced. Full back up of 750GB took three hours (using Samsung Evo SSD). Will leave Sophos disabled awaiting their update.
     
  10. chriscl macrumors 6502

    chriscl

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    #10
    Upgraded my MBP to macOS Sierra, it sat for nearly three hours at "preparing backup" (using an external USB drive) before it then commenced to back up 15GB of data.

    Just leave it going, it'll get there in the end.
     
  11. zorinlynx macrumors 601

    zorinlynx

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #11
    By the way, the issues that cropped up in this thread are some of the things Apple is trying to solve with their new filesystem. Hopefully we'll have smoother backups in a few years. :)
     
  12. chatbr macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    #12
    Its no biggie.
    It only happened on the first sync, which is expected on a big change.
    Just letting people know not to be worried if takes too long.
     
  13. USAntigoon macrumors regular

    USAntigoon

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    #13
    Did some reading about this issue, which I also struggle with.
    I am not close to my iMac, hence cannot give the suggestion below a tryout..

    Found the following in another forum and apparently was successfully implemented.

    "Do you know if Spotlight is trying to index your TM drive as well? (That could take all day!) To check, open System Preferences and go to the Spotlight tab. Select the Privacy tab and check to see that your TM backup drive is listed there. If it isn't, add it!" FYI
     
  14. JohnDS macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    #14
    Also, if you are backing up to a Time Capsule (rather than a USB drive), try connecting by ethernet rather than wifi.
     

Share This Page