Preparing Jailbroken 2.2.1 for 3.0

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by MattZani, Jun 16, 2009.

  1. MattZani macrumors 68030

    MattZani

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    So, do i just upgrade it from the Jailbroken 2.2.1? Or Should i wipe restore? Restore from Back Up? Confused now :p
     
  2. komiothebeat macrumors 6502

    komiothebeat

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    Corona, CA
    #2
    i think that if you were to just update to the 3.0 there may be some components left over from the jailbreak, i'd wait till quickpwn came out with a 3.0 compatible version (if you want to stay jailbroken) but if you want a complete install no JB then you are goignt o have to erase settings from the phone and then restore from the 3.0
     
  3. journalistroy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    #3
    Not sure how to do this, my first attempt to seek info from MacRumors. Wondering if anyone has heard about the AT&T contract expiring?

    Thanks

    Roy
     
  4. Roessnakhan macrumors 68040

    Roessnakhan

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    ABQ
    #4
    You mean their exclusivity? Its through 2010, but they'll probably try to re-negotiate it. But this is really not the thread for this.
     
  5. Tokiopop macrumors 68000

    Tokiopop

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK
    #5
    Do a full DFU restore to 2.2.1, then update to 3.0 through iTunes, so nothing is left behind. Wait for a Jailbreak (QuickPwn would be easier) to be released by the Dev Team then pwn it.

    On a side note, I'm not really sure about DFU restoring... I think DFU has been disabled in iTunes 8.2. The Dev Team are supposed to be releasing a fix in the next version of QuickPwn.

    I think I'll be waiting this out, I don't want any of my favourite apps (App Store and Jailbreak) to not work on 3.0.

    But never upgrade from a Jailbreak. Unless you want to loose 500mb+ of your storage.
     
  6. imfrog2002 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    #6
    Full DFU restore? What?!? Can't you just run a "restore and update" to 3.0? That's what I'm planning on...
     

Share This Page