Presentation Options in Classroom

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by iSaint, Aug 3, 2007.

1. iSaint macrumors 603

iSaint

I am a high school English teacher, and I want to make my classroom more presentation friendly. I have no white board or LCD projector. I have considered buying the LCD, but now I'm thinking about a flat panel or flat screen TV.

My questions have to do with running the signal to the projection system. Obviously, I can run lines all over the classroom to the projector, or the TV. But, what are my other options? If I have an Apple TV and a monitor or TV, can I stream wirelessly from my Powerbook? Can I run a Keynote presentation wirelessly (or other media, or whatever the signal)? Any other ideas?

Thanks in advance.

2. macchappy macrumors member

You COULD hook up a Mac Mini to your TV/Projector, put iWork on it, transfer your presentations to the Mini, and then finally, use the Apple Remote to control the Keynote.

3. iSaint thread starter macrumors 603

iSaint

Yeah, but that's getting up in costs, and I'd have another computer to worry with. I want the cheapest route to stream from my Powerbook to a display. I saw a 32" Flat Panel at KMart for $357, down from $500. I think it may have slight damage or is old stock. That's my idea right now...and just run lines where I need to.

Can you stream anything from your computer to Apple TV?

4. StealthRider macrumors 65816

StealthRider

Not Keynote or PowerPoint presentations (at least at this time). I, honestly, would get a projector and an RF presentation remote, rather than worry about doing any of your shows remotely.

5. iSaint thread starter macrumors 603

iSaint

That's probably a good idea. I just can't spend $600 - $800 right now. Maybe if I keep looking I can find something for a good bit less on eBay. Thanks!

6. puckhead193 macrumors G3

puckhead193

does your school have tvs on carts to show movies etc? Can you just borrow one of those and hook your pb up to the tv?