preserve baseband on ios5 gm?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by arram, Oct 4, 2011.

  1. arram macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    #1
    I want to update to the ios5 gm, but i also need my baseband for gevey. Does tinyumbrella preserve baseband for this? Does any one know?
     
  2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #2
    I would wait till TU is upgraded for 5.0 or other tools are released to maintain your old bb.
    Nothing right now.
     
  3. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #3
    Apple has patched out Gevey with iOS 5. It no longer works.
     
  4. arram thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    #4
    intell: it works if you preserve your baseband
     
  5. Trauma1 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    #5
    I want to know what the baseband for the 4S is going to be.

    It's definitely not going to be the 01.59.00, but I wonder how it's going to work with it being both GSM and CDMA.
     
  6. filmfanatic24 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    #6
    I just put 5.0 GM on my 4 and the baseband is 04.11.08
     
  7. arram thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    #7
    thanks, im on 4.10.01 for the gevey sim. wish i knew if TU preserves
     
  8. rizzuh macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    #8
    i tried to use TU to update my iphone 4 to iOS 5 GM earlier and preserve baseband.. the phone/itunes gets stuck on "preparing iphone for restore". so it doesn't look like it works atm. hopefully there's an update soon
     
  9. arram thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    #9
    cool thanks for letting me know! Yeah I hope snowbreeze or TU gets updated asap
     
  10. erb55 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    Location:
    California
    #10
    hey guys i was also looking around for answers to this, and i found that sn0wbreeze v2.8b8 will jailbreak and preserve baseband for iOS 5 GM ..sn0wbreeze v2.8b8 (For iOS 5 Gold Master)

    http://ih8sn0w.com/
     
  11. tailerd macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    #11
    What if i have a mac? how can i do the same?? thanks!!
     
  12. erb55 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    Location:
    California
    #12
    ^^..there's no way to preserve baseband on mac yet well at least that i know of..you would need to way for pwnage tool to be updated to work with iOS 5 GM...or you can borrow a friends or family members pc :)
     
  13. tailerd macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    #13
    thx... :(
     
  14. kkiran macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    #14
    But isn't it tethered jailbreak though?
     

Share This Page