Presonus Firebox

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by msb65, Mar 13, 2009.

1. msb65 macrumors member

Hi Everyone,

I am interested in purchasing a Presonus Firebox as my first audio interface. It seems to be quite popular although I have heard some negative things about its preamps and headphone levels.

Has anyone used this device and can make a recommendation one way or the other? Does it work well with Leopard?

Mike

2. Fishrrman macrumors G4

RE: Presonus Firebox

Mike wrote:
    "I am interested in purchasing a Presonus Firebox as my first audio interface. It seems to be quite popular although I have heard some negative things about its preamps and headphone levels.
    Has anyone used this device and can make a recommendation one way or the other? Does it work well with Leopard?"

I've been using a Firebox for a few years now, without problems, on both 10.3.9 and 10.4.11. I wouldn't expect any hardware issues with 10.5.x. You might have to check Presonus' site to see if the Firebox software applications will run under Leopard.

I've no problems with the headphone output and the preamps were ok when I used them. I now use an FMR "RNP" (really nice preamp) for my mic inputs, plugged into the line inputs in the Firebox. The RNP is as nice a preamp as you'll find in its price range.

The Firebox uses the "CORE Audio drivers" that are built into OS X - no need to install drivers, and no driver conflicts. Setting it up was one of the easiest experiences I've ever had on the Mac - about 10 minutes between unboxing it and recording test tracks using GarageBand.