Pressing Power Button to Sleep?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by weizilla, Nov 19, 2016.

  1. weizilla macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    #1
    With the new 15" MBP with TouchBar, can I put the computer to sleep just by pressing the power button?

    I know I can add a sleep button to the touch bar but I feel like the power button should do this already. Additionally, it seems like this was the behavior previously but something changed with Sierra or the Touch ID power button?

    Also, some links online says holding the button for 4-5 seconds will either put the computer to sleep or bring up a sleep/shutdown/restart dialog but when I do this, the computer just does a hard shutdown.
     
  2. yillbs macrumors 6502

    yillbs

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2015
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    Yeah, holding it down brings up no dialog, it's not windows :p
    Pressing the power button will put it to sleep. However, so will closing the lid. I can't think of a time it'd ever need the laptop asleep and still open.
     
  3. weizilla thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    #3
    Just tried it again, pressing the power button when the laptop is on doesn't do anything.

    I keep my laptop on my desk so there's no need to close it every time I leave the computer just to open it again at the same spot. However, it's not always plugged in so I would like to put it to sleep easily to save power.
     
  4. skids929 macrumors 6502a

    skids929

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    #4

    Just put the lock button in the Touchbar, problem solved. You can hit that and shuts it down to sleep lid open.
     
  5. weizilla thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    #5
    I understand I can do that but when it seemed like the power button should put the computer to sleep, even according to Apple's own documentation: https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201236. Just trying to figure out why it's not doing what it's suppose to.
     
  6. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #6
    Call AppleCare. You can explain your question, and the AppleCare folks may tell you why that won't work on the TB models.
     
  7. Rkuda macrumors regular

    Rkuda

    Joined:
    May 23, 2016
    #7
    I don't think its really a power button anymore, in the traditional sense. I think its basically just TouchID now with a backup emergency power button to force it off or turn it on manually.

    You'll just have to add the sleep button to the control strip or set a short sleep timer if you want to save on battery when you're away from the computer.
     

Share This Page