Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Cancelled
Original poster
Jun 3, 2008
I just bought Xcode 4 but want to learn Objective-C/iPhone/OS X development. I don't mind starting with the basics, I'm in no rush, I want to learn right. I have no programming experience (besides dabbling with C# here and there). My only concern is many of these books may tell you to do a lot of things in Xcode 3 that I won't be able to translate to 4. Are there any good books to get started on that can be done without downloading Xcode 3?

EDIT: This is what I'm leaning towards: http://www.amazon.com/Programming-O...=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1299822954&sr=1-1

Last edited:

dejo

Moderator emeritus
Sep 2, 2004
The Centennial State
There are a number of Xcode 4 books coming out very soon. But, Xcode 4 is not necessary if you are just starting to learn to program. Xcode 3 is plenty of IDE for that and most books/tutorials/etc. will be based on it.

Cancelled
Original poster
Jun 3, 2008
There are a number of Xcode 4 books coming out very soon. But, Xcode 4 is not necessary if you are just starting to learn to program. Xcode 3 is plenty of IDE for that and most books/tutorials/etc. will be based on it.

I would just prefer to learn the newest version of the software rather than learn an outdated one first. How far off are the first decent books? I don't mind waiting a month or so but I don't want to wait three plus.

balamw

Moderator emeritus
Aug 16, 2005
New England
I would just prefer to learn the newest version of the software rather than learn an outdated one first. How far off are the first decent books? I don't mind waiting a month or so but I don't want to wait three plus.