Preview Column in Finder

Discussion in 'OS X Mavericks (10.9)' started by Mateec, Feb 13, 2014.

  1. Mateec macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2014
    #1
    Hi,

    Is there a possibility to use the preview column in Finder, but the preview of the file cannot be shown but I do want to see the extra info of the file at the bottom of the preview column.
    I'm having an issue when opening files that way and when I want to save the changes I get an error message that I do not have the authorisation. I have FC rights on the shared folder.
    My guess is that the file is locked by the preview shown in the preview column.

    Thanks for all your help, tips!
     
  2. TheGraphicMac macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Location:
    In a house
    #2
    The document you're trying to preview probably doesn't have one that the system can view. However, if you're getting permissions errors, then the problem is more complicated and we would need more information to help.
     
  3. Mateec thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2014
    #3
    The documents I'm trying to open are photoshop files. The preview of those files is shown perfectly in the preview column! The problem is that I DON'T want the preview, only the info about the files that is shown at the bottom.
    In the attachment i've posted I don't want to see the preview of the desktop, but only the info at the bottom.

    The issue I'm having when saving, I found the solution on Adobe forum, was to disable the preview column. Problem is that I need the info at the bottom in the preview column.

    Thx
     

    Attached Files:

  4. stooovie macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    #4
    OP probably wants to see the file info WITHOUT the preview. That's not possible anymore AFAIK. You could hide previews in prior versions of OSX but not in
    mavericks. File a suggestion with Apple if you want that ability. I do too.
     
  5. Mateec thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2014
    #5
    Thanks for the info!
    I was afraid it wasn't possible, could find any hint or tip about it
     

Share This Page